Chicken with Saffron Rice

This is our version of arroz con pollo, the traditional Spanish dish of chicken and rice that is seasoned with saffon. The ingredients are simmered together to enhance the flavors, creating the perfect one-pot meal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken with Saffron Rice
Review 1 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Mediocre even with the saffron sold at W-S
March 10, 2014
If I ordered this in a restaurant I'd be disapointed by my choice. I'd say it was cooked well but not what I should have ordered. As a teen, I ate a lot of dinners at my Spanish friend's house where the chicken and rice or pork and rice dinners were phenomenal. I'm not sure what is missing in this recipe (it's not the saffron sold here at W-S which is very good), but I won't be trying it again to find out.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted April 12, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
Racaito was missing for me
I asked around, and looked on line, and found out a starting base of Racaito was missing from the taste I was trying to acheive. Racaito is a mixture of green bell peppers, onions, garlic, culantro leaves (not cilantro) and ajies dulces (small sweet chile peppers) chopped and blended together. I tried a recipe that I found on line for Arroz con Pollo made with Racaito and it was delish!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kmv5810
PA
January 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
makes a ton.
January 6, 2014
a new chicken and rice dish for our family. fairly easy meal to make...and it makes a ton!
Review 3 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeBE
,Pittsburgh
,Pa
Pittsburgh, Pa.
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An excellent recipe
March 2, 2013
My family loves this recipe and for good reason. First off, it's aromatic and makes the entire house smell great.
Most of all, it's a simple dish to prep and cook and it tastes delicious.
This also is a nice dish if you have visitors. The chicken comes out fall-of-the-bone tender, and the flavors are full and delicious.
It's great for leftovers and to take to lunch.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYhoya
February 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome no-fail recipe
February 11, 2012
This is a wonderful dish... only change we make is to double the amount of diced tomatoes that go in it, otherwise it seems a little too dry and too dense. Makes great left-overs. Even the kids like it. Takes some time to make, but it's easy.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again