Chicken with Saffron Rice

This is our version of arroz con pollo, the traditional Spanish dish of chicken and rice that is seasoned with saffon. The ingredients are simmered together to enhance the flavors, creating the perfect one-pot meal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken with Saffron Rice
Review 1 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Mediocre even with the saffron sold at W-S
March 10, 2014
If I ordered this in a restaurant I'd be disapointed by my choice. I'd say it was cooked well but not what I should have ordered. As a teen, I ate a lot of dinners at my Spanish friend's house where the chicken and rice or pork and rice dinners were phenomenal. I'm not sure what is missing in this recipe (it's not the saffron sold here at W-S which is very good), but I won't be trying it again to find out.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted April 12, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
Racaito was missing for me
I asked around, and looked on line, and found out a starting base of Racaito was missing from the taste I was trying to acheive. Racaito is a mixture of green bell peppers, onions, garlic, culantro leaves (not cilantro) and ajies dulces (small sweet chile peppers) chopped and blended together. I tried a recipe that I found on line for Arroz con Pollo made with Racaito and it was delish!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kmv5810
PA
January 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
makes a ton.
January 6, 2014
a new chicken and rice dish for our family. fairly easy meal to make...and it makes a ton!
Review 3 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeBE
,Pittsburgh
,Pa
Pittsburgh, Pa.
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An excellent recipe
March 2, 2013
My family loves this recipe and for good reason. First off, it's aromatic and makes the entire house smell great.
Most of all, it's a simple dish to prep and cook and it tastes delicious.
This also is a nice dish if you have visitors. The chicken comes out fall-of-the-bone tender, and the flavors are full and delicious.
It's great for leftovers and to take to lunch.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYhoya
February 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome no-fail recipe
February 11, 2012
This is a wonderful dish... only change we make is to double the amount of diced tomatoes that go in it, otherwise it seems a little too dry and too dense. Makes great left-overs. Even the kids like it. Takes some time to make, but it's easy.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brendaj7
,FL
South Florida
October 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite All-Time Go-To-Chicken Recipe
October 23, 2011
Everyone in my family loves this one, even the fussiest ones. I cook it in a cast iron Creuset Dutch oven. It's the perfect Sunday afternoon recipe to make, and there's enough to last for a weekday lunch. Fragrant, savory, and delicious all in one.
Review 6 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggielou
,Plano
,IL
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dish!
October 12, 2011
I have made this dish several times. Love it. But I have found 3 cups of rice is too much. The liquid to rice ratio is wrong. I found that 2 cups is better. Anyone else have this problem? Will continue to enjoy this dish.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RebeccaCooking
,Edmond
,OK
October 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a family favorite
October 9, 2011
I made this once and it went in regular rotation at our house. Do not like the price of saffron keep you from making this recipe. It is soo worth it, in fact, I add a little more saffron and steep it in the chicken broth. IMO it helps the saffron go throughout the dish. Make this! You'll love it.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HubbyChef
San Diego, CA
March 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A One Pot Delight
March 24, 2011
This dish was a joy to prepare as well as eat. The saffron provides very complex flavors and color. No flavor overpowers another and each one is just right. The chicken comes out moist and falls right from the bone. Great recipe overall.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CDNaspiringcook
Toronto Ontario
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST Baked Rice ever
March 20, 2011
The hint of saffron, with Sherry and pepper.. what else can you ask for! I've made this recipe over 5 times and tweeted about it! Keep it coming!
Review 10 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heidi49
Hawthorn Woods, IL
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Effort!
November 8, 2010
This took a bit of time but the chicken was very tender and juicy. I think I would like to remove skin next time and rub chicken with a bit of garlic because we didn't like the mushy skin.
The rice was wonderful. One of the best I ever made but there was tons of it. I would cut back a bit.
All in all, a great dish.
Review 11 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natali
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply delicious!!!
October 17, 2010
This is amazing! I made it for when I had my boyfriend's family over and it simply had everyone speechless! I highly recommend it!
Review 12 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spnfoodie
New York, NY
September 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious One Pot Dish
September 19, 2010
This recipe is a keeper! I will definitely make it again. I'm always trying to find new one pot dishes to make since I don't have much time with my little toddler running around. This dish was simple enough and so, so good. I followed the recipe to a T, except that I used canned Organic Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes with Green Chilies since it was what I had in the pantry. It gave the rice a little kick. I love spicy food, so I appreciated the extra spice. My one year old didn't seem to mind it - he ate two drumsticks along with the rice. This is a great dish to make for a family.
Review 13 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaloAltoCook
Palo Alto, CA
August 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a bowl scraper!
August 24, 2010
I made this two weeks in a row because it was so delicious! Ironically, I didn't have saffron (and didn't want to buy any because of how prohibitively expensive it is) so I was worried my dish would be lacking. Even without the saffron, this dish is absolutely delicious! Easy to make and it is a bowl scraper!
Review 14 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dlang
San Antonio, Texas
May 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great family meal
May 20, 2010
This has become one of my family's favorite meals. My husband loves it. There is so much flavor in this dish, we can eat it the next day and it's just as good. It's a one pot dish too!
Review 15 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosehillk
North Canton, Ohio
May 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimate comfort food recipe
May 19, 2010
I follow this recipe to a T, unless I decide to add more meat. Wonderful flavors-would not change a thing. Like others have said-it reheats well. I like dishes like this-feeds a crowd or wonderful for the next day and beyond. I love to cook, but just not every day. Sometimes it is so handy to have something already done! I love this recipe!
Review 16 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kst8chic
Manhattan, KS
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!!
May 17, 2010
I love this recipe! The flavors are amazing- even my hubby (who is not a "foodie") liked it!!
Review 17 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TDog
Chico, ca
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious meal that gives leftovers
May 14, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I tried this recipe using brown rice and found I needed to cook the rice a bit longer. A very impressive mid-week recipe that feeds the family 2 nights!
Review 18 for Chicken with Saffron Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewWifeinOhio
North Canton, OH
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A biweekly receipe favorite
May 3, 2010
I make this for my husband every other week and it is my all time favorite recipe for my dutch oven. It is really easy to make and it makes your kitchen smell wonderful too! It also warms up well too (there are only 2 of us so we eat this for the rest of the week for lunch or snacks).