Chicken, Tortilla and Lime Soup

In this classic soup, called sopa de lima, from Mexico's Yucatan region, the chicken is not cooked directly in the soup broth because it will make it cloudy. Be careful not to add too much chile or the soup may be too fiery for comfort. You want to maintain a good balance between the tartness of the lime and the heat of the chiles. One large avocado, halved, pitted, peeled and diced, makes a soothing garnish to the spicy broth. Although it's not authentic, 1 cup corn kernels may be added to the soup with the tomatoes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken, Tortilla and Lime Soup
Review 1 for Chicken, Tortilla and Lime Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rjamesclan
,Ripon
,CA
February 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is my go to recipe for Chicken Tortilla Soup
February 10, 2012
I work so for a quick fix I buy a rotisserie chicken at the market. This is easy, quick and delicious.
Review 2 for Chicken, Tortilla and Lime Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGrubDaily
Miami, FL
August 27, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A nice change from regular chicken noodle soup!
August 27, 2011
I like this recipe because the tortilla strips are used as a garnish rather than an ingredient cooked in with the broth, which keeps the soup a lot lighter and healththere also, there are very few ingredients required to make this soup and it doesn’t take a whole lot of time to cook—so it’s cheap and fast!
It provides the comfort of traditional chicken noodle soup, but the jalapeno pepper adds a nice unique twist. If you don’t feel like making the homemade tortilla strips, then serve this soup over rice…or do both, as I did! When serving, I like to garnish my soup with the tortilla crisps, cubed avocado, and chopped cilantro.
NOTES: I suggest using a pizza cutter to cut the tortilla strips because it easy to get them straight and precise. Also make sure the oil is good and hot before you start frying, or the strips will be soggy.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Chicken, Tortilla and Lime Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
califcoolmom
Clovis, CA
May 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super easy and healthy soup!
May 22, 2010
I made this and not only was it really great tasting, but it was really fast to make too! My picky son liked it even!
Review 4 for Chicken, Tortilla and Lime Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Isabo
Memphis, TN
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful combination of flavors!
May 2, 2010
This soup was very good. Great flavor and texture; but very labor intensive and time consuming. For that reason I probably won't be making it again; but would recommend it to anyone who has ample time to prepare it. Thanks for the recipe!