Chicken Stew with Dumplings

To add extra flavor to the stew, you can make cheese or herb dumplings. Simply stir 1 cup grated cheddar or Asiago cheese or 1 Tbs. finely chopped fresh chives, basil or parsley into the dry ingredients and proceed with the recipe.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Stew with Dumplings
Review 1 for Chicken Stew with Dumplings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenSaylor04
October 29, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really good!
October 29, 2014
This was my first time making chicken and dumplings where the recipe wasn't printed on the back of the Bisquick box. I was worried about flavor so I added some red pepper flakes and chopped fresh rosemary to the chicken while it was cooking. To the dumplings I added poultry seasoning, roasted garlic powder and fresh chopped parsley. The soup was pretty good but I missed the creaminess that I'm used to. And, I was a little heavy handed with the red pepper flakes because there was an after kick that set my mouth on fire. So the second day, I added some light cream and that gave it the perfect consistency that I was looking for and it toned down the spiciness some. Next time I'll leave the red pepper out completely.
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 2 for Chicken Stew with Dumplings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jewellybug
,Toronto
,ON
October 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing with a few additions
October 7, 2014
LOVED this stew, but I did add some extras for fuller flavour and heartiness: about 2 extra cups of broth, 1 lb of halved baby potatoes, an extra carrot and celery stalk, 3 minced garlic cloves, 1/4 cup of dry white wine, 1 tbsp minced fresh rosemary and a pinch of cayenne pepper flakes.
Also, to make things easier, I roasted the chicken thighs in the oven while chopping up the veggies (toss them in olive oil, salt and pepper and put in 425F for 15-20 mins) then chopped them up once cooked- it's much easier to chop cooked meat than raw.
And in making the dumplings, I used whole milk for richness, and added it gradually while tossing the dough just until the dough almost pulled together. So I would use 1/2 cup as only a guideline. They were exactly what I feel a dumpling should be. Mmmm!
I will be making this recipe again and again, we loved it. A new staple in our home!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Chicken Stew with Dumplings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magee4475
,Boston
,MA
January 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EASY AND DELICIOUS
January 5, 2013
I tried this recipe today and was astounded by how easy and delicious it was. I followed the recipe exactly. The only addition I made was to the dumplings, adding the suggested 1 cup of cheddar cheese as well as a healthy amount of Old Bay Seasoning. My only suggestion would be to form the dumplings smaller than the recipe suggests, as they grow when cooking in the stew. This is a MUST make again.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Chicken Stew with Dumplings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COGlobetrotter
,Denver
,CO
November 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hearty and yummy!
November 17, 2012
Only ingredient I added were some red pepper flakes which added flavor and a bit of heat. I'd recommend some garlic for the dumplings tough; tasted a little doughy. Overall it was a hit!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again