Chicken Paprika Stew

In Eastern Europe, cooks take pride in their family recipes for rich, hearty stews. Here, our chicken paprika stew starter makes it easy to prepare a warming dish brimming with old-world flavor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Paprika Stew
Review 1 for Chicken Paprika Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuccaSpring
,north woods
,WI
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh no, why???
January 24, 2014
Your chicken paprika stew was excellent... easy to make...good enough for company...and kids love it, why would you stop making it?????
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chicken Paprika Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McNallyIsMyHamster
,Mendham
,NJ
March 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Raved!
March 21, 2012
My family put this recipe on their "make it for Grandma" list, it is that good. I made it in my oven as opposed to the crock pot and the results were fabulous! In my opinion, the taste is not so much "hungarian stew" it is much more like the old Mexican Chicken recipe in the checkered Better Homes cookbook. A family favorite. The difference is that this is much less work and the quality is as good as slaving over the stove all day. Serve it over noodles or rice. Mmmmmm good.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again, yummy
Cons: Cost, really $16.00?
Review 3 for Chicken Paprika Stew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fwwinbellevue
,Bellevue
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken paprika stew needs help
October 24, 2011
I made this recipe based on the slow cooker recipe. While it was edible, there were many problems. As a previous reviewer has said, the finished product does not look anything like the photo in the catalog and on the web. For starters, where are the mushrooms? I was using a very basic slow cooker and after only two hours the chicken was overcooked. You almost needed to strain the dish if you didn't want to spend the entire meal picking out bones. The flavor of the stew starter was good but the cooking process needs major changes. In the future I MIGHT try it with boneless skinless chicken breasts but not in a slow cooker, without pre-browning and for maybe an hour of cooking time. Please, Test Kitchen to the rescue!
Cons: Texture, Appearance
Review 4 for Chicken Paprika Stew
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
October 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where are the peppers and mushrooms?
October 15, 2011
The recipe seems to be missing what is in the photo? Is there a more detailed recipe that I am not seeing?
Review 5 for Chicken Paprika Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FaithG
,Indian Trail
,NC
October 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh, so good!
October 6, 2011
This stew sounded like such a good idea for those evenings when we have 45 minutes to be together and eat with no time to cook or clean up. I bought the product despite it's expensive $16 price, planning to use twice the chicken and hope I had enough sauce to flavor the meal for eight. I put two cut up chickens in the oven with the sauce poured over it at 2:30 this afternoon before leaving to do the afternoon run, got home at 5:15 and turned it down to 300 and served it to rave reviews at 6:45. There was plenty of sauce, so fully flavorful we wanted to eat just the sauce to enjoy it some more! You can stretch it using two chickens, and I'm betting the leftover three pieces will be outstanding tomorrow for lunch.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Chicken Paprika Stew
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TommyO
,Reston
,VA
October 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the same as pictured
October 2, 2011
This meal presents a dish with firm red pepper strips, and plenty of mushrooms. While the dish was not bad tasting, it is never going to come out like the picture without significant doctoring.
Pros: Quick, Adaptable
Cons: Texture, Ingredients, Appearance