Chicken Marsala

Chicken with a creamy Marsala sauce is a standard of old-school Italian restaurants, where you might find it prepared or finished tableside in a chafing dish. Cooking it at a more leisurely pace in a slow cooker or on the stovetop eliminates much of the fuss and produces very tender, flavorful results. Substituting tangy Italian mascarpone, a soured cream cheese, for the usual cream adds a sophisticated touch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Marsala
Review 1 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbaraB8
,Greenville
,SC
October 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT...with some changes
October 25, 2014
I made this recipe for 8 people, so It was doubled. I did not add the marscapone, but did add about 1/2 cup (total) of heavy cream pouring slowly toward the end of cooking,instead. I seasoned both the chicken breast with the flour and also added a mixture of wonderful italian spices.. I didn't use as much broth, added a little cooking sherry . I also made it the day before my dinner party and reheated it slowly in a low oven for about 45 min. marvelous!!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenDivaNW
,Palatine
,IL
May 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Weekend Meal
May 18, 2014
I made this last night for my husband and it came out perfect. I followed the crock pot method and although I'd never done chicken in the crockpot, it was very moist and tender. I didn't change the recipe, but did use a better Marsala, which brought out the flavor of the dish nicely. My husband couldn't stop raving about it and was very happy there are left overs!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Chicken Marsala
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CAdreaming
,Laguna Niguel
,CA
April 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Aroma is the best part
April 21, 2014
I had such high hopes for this Easter dish. It smelled delicious. However, the ingredients drove the price way up and the flavor, although good, wasn't up to expectations. It needs more seasoning. I would substitute cream for the mascarpone and leave out the pancetta and add more mushrooms to cut the cost. The crockpot version worked well for a crowd.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Cost, Ingredients, Lengthy
Review 4 for Chicken Marsala
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HealthyandFresh
October 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DRY CHICKEN
October 9, 2013
The sauce was excellent, but the chicken was dry. Next time I probably would fry the chicken on each side for less time. This was really just ok, needed something extra on the flavor.
Review 5 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nelsoniks
,Suwanee
,GA
Atlanta
September 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Recipie
September 2, 2013
This is the second time I have made this recipe and it is already a family favorite. You would have to work to mess this up, but I do recommend you mix the mascarpone in with the mushroom after they have cooled a little, or the oil in the mascarpone will separate.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
july39
,Bradenton
,FL
June 15, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous chicken recipe
June 15, 2013
I make this chicken dish almost every other week. I don't use the pancetta or the marscapone, but I would imagine it would up the flavor profile. I am newer cook.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doncancook
,highlands
,nj
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
soooo good my son told me he loved it!
March 11, 2013
very easy to make. when we finally sat down to eat, it was heaven!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weed
,Peru
,ny
February 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
make this for a christmas party
February 9, 2013
I made this for our annual Christmas party. It was easy and sat waiting in the crock pot while I enjoyed our guests. When it was time for dinner, it was ready. This is an outstanding recipe that received rave reviews. My newly married nephew even asked for the recipe.
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Chicken Marsala
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FoodieStuntman
,Fremont
,CA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but Needs Updating
January 29, 2013
I prepared this dish as instructed. It tastes good, but I wanted to share a friend's (a professional chef) suggestions to update the stovetop method:
After searing the chicken, remove it from the pan and add the pancetta to render the fat. Then add the mushrooms and shallots to the pancetta to sauté. Deglaze with the marsala and broth, scraping up any browned bits and bring to a simmer. Return the chicken, cover and reduce the heat to low for 30 minutes. Remove the chicken to a separate plate, then add your butter and mascarpone to thicken the sauce.
Why do this?
1. By sautéing the mushrooms, butter and mascarpone in a separate pan, you're not blending flavors during the braise, not to mention the loss of any fond (flavorful browned bits stuck to the bottom of the pan) from the mushrooms.
2. Reducing the use of 3 different cooking vessels to 1--easier cleanup.
I prepared the dish both ways and my friend's suggestions yielded a more flavorful dish.
Pros: Good Value, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bambola
,lindenhurst
,NY
January 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken delight
January 14, 2013
I found this to be the perfect dinner when you are having guests and don't know what to serve...taystee, easy to prepare, and not expensive
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MemaT
,Holland
,MI
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impress your guests
December 18, 2012
I have used the recipe 3 times and each time it came out perfect. The flavor is wonderful. Also, the recipe can easily be increased or decreased depending on number of guests. One of the best recipes I have tried from William Sonoma.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ronji
,San Diego
,CA
San Diego, CA
October 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Delicious!
October 21, 2012
I found this recipe easy to follow and the results were wonderful! This was a fantastic chicken dish to serve for dinner and I look forward to making it for my next dinner party. I made a little more sauce than the recipe called for to ensure there was enough to serve over the potatoes and the chicken. The chicken was so tender and the sauce was the perfect compliment. Make this for dinner you will be glad you did!
I used to stovetop method and I used my braiser instead of my dutch oven since I was only making 4 chicken breasts. I also allowed it to simmer uncovered for the last 5 minutes or so and the sauce was the perfect consistency.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 13 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Mountain Iron
,MN
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite recipe, of all time, ever.
October 9, 2012
I LOVE this recipe, and do recommend it to family and friends. It is so versatile: pork or chicken, stove top or crock pot, on potatoes, noodles, or rice. I prefer it over egg noodles. I usually sub creme fraiche for the mascarpone, because I can make it at home for cheaper than I can buy mascarpone. This is just the best recipe I have ever found, ever!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy, Appearance
Review 14 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PMartin
,Waukesha
,WI
Waukesha, WI
March 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic flavor
March 25, 2012
Excellent recipe. Well worth taking the time to make. The flavor is fantastic! The mascarpone really takes it to a new level.
Review 15 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Westhampton
,NY
March 22, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Fabulous Meal for a special occasion
March 22, 2012
This recipe was fabulous! It took some time to prepare as I am only a novice cook but it was well worth the effort. With the exception of only using 4 chicken breasts, I followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious and my friends said it was truly gourmet.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: time consuming preparation
Review 16 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alfiegurl
,Wilmington
,NC
Wilmington, NC
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous for a special treat!
March 5, 2012
I have fixed this recipe twice and both times they have been great. The first time seemed to be a bit involved but the second time it just flew together. FABULOUS! One friend that had it had just gotten back from Italy and couldn't believe how wonderful it was. The best!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 17 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjbuddy
,Denver
Denver
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant and easy dish!
February 1, 2012
So easy and delicious! Made only four chicken breasts and omitted the chives at the end (used chopped flat leaf parsley instead) but followed otherwise. Served with marscarpone mashed potatoes (why not use it up?) and it was a wonderful meal. I followed the stove top method and used fine, sweet Marsala. Will make again for sure and will serve for guests or for a special meal.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 18 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miley
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok! Wow! This is tasty and easy!
January 25, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe... OMG! The flavors combine so perfect! And the textures :)
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 19 for Chicken Marsala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GourmetMama
Fergus Falls, MN
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic! Would make again.
January 10, 2012
Made on the stovetop in a dutch oven and it was absolutely wonderful. We will definitely make this again and I hope my kids will get used to the new flavors. They did eat it but with reservation and ketchup. Beautiful presentation, easy to make, excellent flavor. I substituted all purpose flour with white rice flour to make this dish gluten free.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again