Chicken & Leek Pie

For a topping alternative, use thawed purchased puff pastry dough. Preheat an oven to 425deg.F and lay the dough on top of the filling in the dish. Trim the dough around the dish, leaving a 1-inch overhang. Fold the overhang back over itself and press it into the sides of the dish to make a sturdy rim. Prick the dough with a fork to create steam vents and bake until golden brown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken & Leek Pie
Review 1 for Chicken & Leek Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
January 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & Easy
January 21, 2014
The leeks made this recipe very tasty. I used 3 leeks because I had extra. Also, I added extra butter and the green portion of green onions/scallions to the biscuits for added taste. Chopped chives would be a good addition too. This recipe had a high yield and was filling. Would definitely make again.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chicken & Leek Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicoleNY
,Florida
,NY
Florida, NY
March 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cold Weather Comfy
March 10, 2013
I added several other veggies so it really became more of a pot pie. Used cubed celery root and sautéed with leeks so it had more time to soften. Added corn, too. I roasted chicken breast in herbs and garlic first as I was afraid chicken would be too bland. Came out fantastic!
Pros: Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Chicken & Leek Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DominiqueH
,Minneapolis
,MN
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Yummy!
February 4, 2013
Super good! I used a bit less broth and didn't use wine as I couldn't buy any due to my age. Instead of shredded chicken, I used ground and it worked perfectly. I would recommend using less flour in the crust and laying it on the filling very thinly. I also cut the amount of baking powder in half. Overall super yummy!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Appearance
Review 4 for Chicken & Leek Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tmd17
,Pensacola
,FL
Pensacola
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A gem for holiday leftovers
January 8, 2012
I've made this twice now--once with leftover holiday turkey and the dumpling topping, once with leftover roast chicken and the puff pastry crust. I replaced the peas with a cup of chopped onion, because we aren't pea people; otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. My family ate it, which never happens--there is always an abstainer. It is rich and tasty the day it is made, and keeps well, though a little less tasty on days two and three. I would recommend cutting the amount of stock if using the puff pastry, as the pastry absorbs a heck of a lot less juice than the dumpling crust
Pros: Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations