Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)

These traditional green-sauced enchiladas from Mexico City are a favorite of chef Ricardo Munoz Zurita. The recipe comes from nearby Xochimilco where, long before the Spanish conquest, the Aztecs were raising vegetables, chilies and herbs on floating gardens encircling Tenochtitlan, their island capital.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
Review 1 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jojomartindale
,Orange County
,Ca
November 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best enchiladas
November 9, 2013
I made these for my husband on a weeknight without reading the recipe all the way through first. Needless to say it took longer than expected, but absolutely worth the wait. I'm not a spicy food person so I only used 3 chilles and that was perfect. I will definitely make this again and again!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ennie
,Seattle
,WA
July 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Classic in our Home
July 24, 2012
I don't know when this recipe was first put on the site. I think I found it somewhere around 2000/2001. It takes time, but it is in no way complicated. Especially now that in 2012 it is EASY to find tomatillos and seranos. Believe me, it was tough back before Food Network HA! If you can't find Queso Blanco, a high quality Monterey Jack is a good substitute. Boneless-skinless breasts work if as long as you supplement with some quality canned, low sodium chicken stock with the water. AND/OR toss in some thighs as well. GREAT leftovers.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
palmtreez423
San Luis Obispo, CA
July 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST ENCHILADAS
July 13, 2011
I have made these enchiladas 10+ times and they never disappoint. No reason to ever make any other enchiladas. I LOVE spicy food... but let me tell you... you do NOT need all 9 serrano chilies. I usually use about 4 (including seeds) and it is the perfect amount of spicy. Kids will still like it, but it still has some kick.
Also, I always add grilled onions, lime juice, cilantro, and queso fresco (sometimes mozzarella) to the inside of the enchiladas.
These are the best!
Pros: Yield, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JBeam
Denver, CO
May 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Good!
May 22, 2011
Ive tried a ton of recipes enchilada recipes that are more complex but this one holds up. Delicious!
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 5 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookinmama3
chesapeake
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
January 16, 2011
This dish has fabulous flavor. It is a bit time consuming especially if you are not used to working with tomatillos and peppers. But it is worth the effort. Plan to make it on a weekend when you have a bit more time. Be careful you don't make it too spicy. I would recommend that you remove all seeds and veins from the peppers.
Review 6 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingpro
Bradenton, FL
August 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
always enjoyed
August 15, 2010
I have made this recipe many times, everyone loves it, it's easy to prepare, even for large groups, it's easy to serve and it looks wonderful on a buffet table. The only problem that I ever have is there is never enough. This recipe appeals to everyone, even those who don't usually eat 'Mexican' food or eschew chicken.
Review 7 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
humingbird
ely ,nv.
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a Quick Weekend Meal
April 30, 2010
I love this recipe! It is easy and freezes great. I make it and freeze it for the weekend.
I love it for church potluck.
Review 8 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DavidDC
Arlington, VA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy delicious enchiladas!
April 30, 2010
This is a fantastic enchilada recipe! It's very easy to prepare and a definite crowd pleaser. Have made this dish may times. Can be a little spicy with the nine serranos so depending on my guests I adjust the amount I include.
Review 9 for Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lico123
Hemet, california
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
April 30, 2010
I made your recipe, and they are delicious! I have my own which I just love,but yours are close enough. I took these to a potluck, and oh goodness! they were gone, before the other dishes! so good. would recommend making. do take a little time, not bad.