Chicken and Summer Vegetable Enchiladas Verde

This recipe features our favorite summer vegetables, but feel free to swap in others as you wish. For a vegetarian version, substitute 1 cup of additional vegetables for the chicken.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken and Summer Vegetable Enchiladas Verde
Review 1 for Chicken and Summer Vegetable Enchiladas Verde
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Marina del Rey
,CA
March 5, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boyfriend requests these a lot!!
March 5, 2015
These enchiladas are SO GOOD and pretty easy to make. They're light, healthy, delicious, and you can vary the ingredients to your liking.
A few changes I've made: I use one can of whole corn instead of cooking up a fresh ear. It saves a lot of time and tastes great. Secondly, the recipe does not call for enough cheese. Buy some more shredded. (I use all monterrey jack for inside the enchiladas, and some mixed mexican on top.) I use a bit more chicken and zucchini than it calls for, which has turned out well. Lastly and most importantly-- get larger tortillas. About 8-10 inch size. These will roll up much more easily than the small size they call for.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chicken and Summer Vegetable Enchiladas Verde
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SF Bay Area, CA
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely perfect enchiladas!
August 14, 2012
I've eaten/made enchiladas all my life...&, I LOVE this recipe! The tortilla prep is perfect - keeps them light but pliable sans microwaving them w/just enough oil so they don't sog in the sauce. The mixture of chicken (a use for the last of that rotisserie chicken!) and veggies keeps it light and is a delicious variation on the more traditional version; the green sauce is bright and fresh ( but, won't lie: I also made variations of this recipe using red sauce, varied the type of cheese, & some variation of the filling mixture..all GREAT). The prep of cooking the veggies before filling the tortillas decreases moisture so they won't sog the tortillas either and the tepid-to-warm temperature of the filling helps makes the whole thing bake up pronto.
I highly recommend this recipe; + most reasonable tweaks you might make that keep the original premise of the recipe in mind (light, pre-cooked filling mixing veggies, cheese and cooked meat....or not) should work.
Cudos to the WS kitchens.
Review 3 for Chicken and Summer Vegetable Enchiladas Verde
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,London, UK
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a crowd!
June 26, 2012
I made this for a Sunday lunch and it was a big hit. I was worried that people wouldn't fill up on the enchiladas alone but everyone seemed satisfied!
I had to use red enchilada sauce as the grocery store didn't have green. It still was very tasty!
I also pre-cooked a few chicken legs and tore up the meat to use.
Wonderful combination of flavours and textures. I would definitely recommend!
It took me around 1 hour 20 min to prepare, including tearing the chicken off of the pre-cooked chicken. Enjoy!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Chicken and Summer Vegetable Enchiladas Verde
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Sarasota
,FL
June 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dinner
June 19, 2012
This recipe was tasty and easy to prepare.
I did make a few changes. I used chopped rotisserie chicken to save time and subbed in flour tortillas and red enchilada sauce because of family preference.
I also warm my tortillas in a hot frying pan prior to adding the filling to make them crispy. I think this will be a hit with my young nieces. The corn gives the dish a sweet flavor.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again