Cherry Clafoutis

Clafoutis (pronounced "kla-foo-TEE") is a rustic French dessert originally from Limousin, in southern France. This region is best known for its sweet black cherries, which, left whole and unpitted, are traditionally baked in a sweet custard filling. Purists insist the pits help to perfume the dish with an appetizing scent, but you can use pitted fruit if you prefer. Preparation is fast and easy, so the dessert is a perfect choice for impromptu gatherings.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cherry Clafoutis
Review 1 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
April 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for breakfast!
April 29, 2014
I first made this for breakfast at Christmas time for guests and have made it several times since. It is easy, delicious, and impressive. Best served with a side of bacon or maple-glazed sausage! So far, I have made this with frozen tart cherries, but I'm excited to use fresh cherries when they come into season. We cut the sugar by half and are very happy with the results.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lacylee
October 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy!
October 10, 2013
This is an elegant dessert that ups the game at dinner parties (with little stress). I had to use frozen cherries, still amazing. Word of advice - clafoutis is not the same puffy, cloud like deliciousness when lukewarm or cold (it seizes up a little). Plan your prep ahead of time, so that you can serve it hot. Big difference!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrenchCountryChef
,Asheville
,NC
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple-quick- a winner
June 30, 2013
I am the head chef at my house but not the head pastry chef. This dish with some fresh whipped cream makes an amateur look like a pro.
Review 4 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iliketoeat
,Austin
,Tx
May 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tender, delicious dessert
May 1, 2013
I made this Wednesday night when my son was stopping by. I used sliced, frozen peaches instead of cherries because that's what I had. I used the Emile Henry rectangular pan. It was a really delicate, wonderful dessert. Can't wait to try it with cherries.
Pros: Impressive
Review 5 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
domfas
,New Orleans
,LA
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
May 29, 2012
This is so easy to make and so delicious! It tastes like a thick crepe with sweet cherries. The way the cherries cook give it such a great fresh taste. I've made this several times and for several French natives and everyone loves it-- so much that there has never been left overs!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again