Cherry Clafoutis

Clafoutis (pronounced "kla-foo-TEE") is a rustic French dessert originally from Limousin, in southern France. This region is best known for its sweet black cherries, which, left whole and unpitted, are traditionally baked in a sweet custard filling. Purists insist the pits help to perfume the dish with an appetizing scent, but you can use pitted fruit if you prefer. Preparation is fast and easy, so the dessert is a perfect choice for impromptu gatherings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cherry Clafoutis
Review 1 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lacylee
October 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy!
October 10, 2013
This is an elegant dessert that ups the game at dinner parties (with little stress). I had to use frozen cherries, still amazing. Word of advice - clafoutis is not the same puffy, cloud like deliciousness when lukewarm or cold (it seizes up a little). Plan your prep ahead of time, so that you can serve it hot. Big difference!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrenchCountryChef
,Asheville
,NC
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple-quick- a winner
June 30, 2013
I am the head chef at my house but not the head pastry chef. This dish with some fresh whipped cream makes an amateur look like a pro.
Review 3 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iliketoeat
,Austin
,Tx
May 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tender, delicious dessert
May 1, 2013
I made this Wednesday night when my son was stopping by. I used sliced, frozen peaches instead of cherries because that's what I had. I used the Emile Henry rectangular pan. It was a really delicate, wonderful dessert. Can't wait to try it with cherries.
Pros: Impressive
Review 4 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
domfas
,New Orleans
,LA
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
May 29, 2012
This is so easy to make and so delicious! It tastes like a thick crepe with sweet cherries. The way the cherries cook give it such a great fresh taste. I've made this several times and for several French natives and everyone loves it-- so much that there has never been left overs!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
June 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the best
June 19, 2011
Excellent taste, texture and aroma. A must try. Sure to impress guests
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 6 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodchick
Delaware
June 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome and Easy!
June 9, 2011
I have made several different cherry clafouti recipes, but this is the best, by far. It has the perfect balance of sweetness/richness and lots of cherries. I took it to the start of an early morning gathering to clean up our local woods on Earth Day - not a crumb was left and everyone was licking their fingers. It was served warm, sprinkled with powdered sugar.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 7 for Cherry Clafoutis
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dalia
CA
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
toooooo eggy
May 31, 2011
first it tasted eggy, also not so sweet for a dessert. you have to eat the dessert cold so you don't taste it so eggy, if i had to make this again i would put some cherry flavor alcohol . i made this dessert to the letter i dont recommend it at all also my friends don't like it.
Pros: Quick, Easy
Cons: Taste
Review 8 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
micnel
March 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicate, creamy, yummy!
March 17, 2011
This was great! I made it for St Patrick's day dessert. I didn't have cherries so I used blueberries and it was fabulous! Topped with whipped cream, it was a hit!
Review 9 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
welovefoodatGA
Ithaca, NY
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tasty dessert
February 1, 2011
When I caught the scent of this baking, I was sold. It was great!
Review 10 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moreskinnydays
Long Beach, CA
July 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
simple and delicious
July 1, 2010
I made this after work one afternoon with cherries from the farmers market. It's delicious! I used about 6 cups of cherries because I don't have a scale. I baked it for only 25 minutes and then turned the oven off and let it sit in the warm oven. The texture was perfect, the zest added a wonderful but delicate flavor, and it was just the right combination of fruit and custard. This would be perfect as a dessert or as a dish to bring to a breakfast/brunch potluck.
Review 11 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanideHart
Missoula, Montana
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic French and wonderful
June 25, 2010
I've been making this for many years - first used the recipe printed in a W-S catalog. It is ALWAYS easy and foolproof and people ask for "More, please." I'm aware cherries with the pits remaining is the true French way to serve this, but Americans don't expect that and it's easier for everyone to pit them with a cherry pitter. Good quality, fresh cherries are wonderful all by themselves, but this dish takes them to a different level - definitely worth making.
I have fresh Washington (although Flathead cherries from Montana are the best but they're not ready yet!) cherries in my kitchen and my next project is to whip one of these up in the morning for breakfast.
Review 12 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
June 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Summertime French dessert
June 18, 2010
This dessert is as delightful and "easy" as early summer in south-central France.
Highly recommended with fresh black, or bing cherries. Very easy to make, and you will be guaranteed no leftovers.
N.B. Most cherries are clingstone, i.e., they do not separate from the pit cleanly. If you decide to pit them by hand with a knife, it will take some time. A pitter is much cleaner, faster, and won't bruise the fruit.
You may want to opt for a more laissez-faire treatment -- put the cherries in with the pits and you will have an authentically French dessert with a hint of the stone. Europeans almost expect that the summer vacation experience on the countryside will have these little "gauche" touches, like cherry pits in your dessert.
Try it with cognac, another Limoges staple.
Review 13 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ColeenVan
Palatine, Il
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
May 2, 2010
I follow this recipe exactly, however, I use 2/ 12oz jars of Morello cherries from Trader Joe's. Every time I serve it, people rave about it. It is quick to prepare when you have the cherries on hand.
Review 14 for Cherry Clafoutis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
karsenk
Port St Lucie, Fl
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy! Kids will love it.
April 30, 2010
This is my favorite recipe to make when cherries are in season. I prefer to use fresh because their texture remains firm through the baking process. This recipe is just too simple, easy to make for a weeknight dessert. I have used store bought pistachio ice cream, but it is also really good with homemade whip cream!