Cherry-Almond Quick Bread

This easy breakfast bread gets a hit of flavor from almond extract, while dried cherries lend a pleasant tartness. For best results, don't overmix the batter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
Review 1 for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnieLaurie
,Jupiter
,FL
Jupiter, FL
August 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a great Irish soda bread!
August 3, 2013
Just substitute raisins for the cherries, add caraway seeds if desired and cut sugar to a half cup. Serve warm with butter and/or strawberry jam. yummy!
I love it toasted the next day if it lasts that long. Like another reviewer, I measure the dry ingredients + raisins & caraway, then seal and refrigerate it for my next loaf.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable
Review 2 for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OaktownMomma
,Oakland
,CA
May 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wowee Delish
May 23, 2013
Super easy to make. I mixed the dry ingredients at night, so the bread was in the oven within 10 minutes of waking up. We didn't wait for it to cool completely, so it was warm, moist, and very buttery.
I cut the sugar by half and it was still plenty sweet. Also added two tbsp. of unsweetened applesauce as another reviewer said it came out dry.
I also added 1/4 cup sliced almonds and the crunchy bits here and there (thank you to another reviewer) were perfect.
The kids and I had it with our breakfast, and I'm putting a lemon glaze on it for dessert.
Be aware, a 1/10th slice of this loaf, even with HALF the sugar, (and added almonds) is around 300 calories. It is super buttery, so you may be able to cut down by a couple TBSP and still have a wonderful loaf.
No problem with baking in a regular loaf pan. Perfectly done at 55 minutes.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Darcies
,council bluffs
,ia
May 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
don't substitute tart cherries
May 4, 2013
i made this with part almond flour. was good, but I didn't have dried "tart" cherries and used just the dried cherries I had on hand. I felt that made it too sweet and the tartness of the tart cherry would have offset the bread better. I prefer the sour cream - maple bread on this site to this one. this was was more like a cake.
Pros: Easy
Review 4 for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GAILEE
,Orangeburg
,SC
April 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for coffee or giving as a gift.
April 26, 2013
The recipe was very easy. I love almonds so I added 1/4 c. sliced almonds to the recipe. It gave it a little crunch. Also, made the recipe into 4 small loaves. Perfect for my home.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
henry8wife
,Salt Lake City
,UT
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor, ok texture
March 26, 2013
This is a very easy recipe that would be great for beginning cooks. The ingredients are readily available in most kitchens. Our family enjoyed the flavor of the bread however, I felt that the texture of the bread was just a little dry. I was expecting it to be more moist and it wasn't. Maybe this is how it is supposed to be though. I don't know that I would make it again because of that though.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance
Cons: Texture
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HCantrelle
Larose, LA
Posted April 19, 2013
I would "tweek" it
I would sub out the milk and use buttermilk instead. I find buttermilk will make breads and cakes much more moist.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LeahD
March 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
March 22, 2013
This came together in no time. However, mine ran over, creating a burnt mess in my oven. I used the size pan the recipe said to. But this is absolutely delicious, so I will make it again in a different pan.
Review 7 for Cherry-Almond Quick Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VermontBaker
,VT
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST quick bread recipe i ever made !
March 4, 2013
First... when I saw the pictures of the three different shortbreads.. I said... that Cherry Almond looks wonderful ! Well it was the easiest and most delicious quick bread recipe I have ever made !!!
Kudo's to those who have developed this recipe !!!! This is a keeper and already in my cookbook !!! Thanks !!!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, great consistency, and delicious !!!