Cheesy Potato Gratin

Enriched with two kinds of cheeses, this gratin is easy to prepare, as it does not call for layering the potatoes in a baking dish. Instead, chunks of potatoes are simmered on the stovetop in a fry pan, along with the ingredients for the sauce. Then the gratin is baked in the oven until golden brown and bubbling.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cheesy Potato Gratin
Review 1 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earth
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and a go-to potato dish
October 18, 2012
This dish is fabulous. It has a strong flavor, so I would recommend pairing it with something that does not. Very rich and creamy and while it has a number of steps to go through which I think requires getting the ingredients out in advance to make it easy on yourself, it is not difficult to make. A+.
Pros: Yield, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sallychicago
October 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING -- sent it to my mom too
October 16, 2012
Simply amazing. The gruyere cheese really tops it off. I added extra cream because I needed to use the remainder of a carton. My roommates and boyfriend loved it.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 3 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllisonW
,GA
October 20, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Foolproof side
October 20, 2011
I am new to cooking and while I'm not nervous to try new things they don't usually turn out that well the first (or second) time around. This dish was easy and turned out beautifully. My husband raved about it as did our guests. Lots of praise for not much work. We used the leftovers for breakfast in the morning - reheated with a sunny side up egg on top and crumbled fresh bacon. DELICIOUS!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suzanne3
,Ft. Myers
,Fl
September 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome side dish
September 23, 2011
Great side dish with a roasted meat. Did use a little extra cream.
Review 5 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hayes
NJ
April 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New taste for potatoes
April 3, 2011
Made this for the first time tonight. Received excellent reviews from my husband, kids, parents and brother, who are picky eaters. The gruyere cheese added a new flavor to the everyday potato, and was a nice compliment to the beef roast I paired with it. Very easy to prepare, and looks like it took hours. I followed the recipe with two easy changes...I used fresh chives instead of thyme...and baked it for closer to 45 minutes instead of 30-35 as instructed, to get the desired tenderness of the potatoes. I covered the pan with foil to avoid over browning the top, since I cooked it longer than instructed. Great side dish, the pan was completely gone before dinner was over.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jessie84
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could eat every day!!
January 5, 2011
i cooked this dish for my parents and they were extremely impressed!!! The cheeses we wonderful!! All of it was perfect!! I would definitely cut the potatoes into smaller chunks next time though.
Review 7 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
julesthegolfer
The Villages, FL
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Potato Gratin I've ever made
December 21, 2010
Read comments and used 3/4 c broth- (increased flour by 1 teaspoon). I also cut potatoes into smaller cubes. Next time I might increase rosemary a bit. Very good. The first time I made it I used the bagged shredded swiss/gruyere but this second time I used all Gruyere, which was better, although they were both delicious.
Review 8 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kermit
NC
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Side
December 14, 2010
Awesome dish made very little varitations only a little more cream and more cheese on top. Turned out great and will make again.
Review 9 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Western Massachusetts
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely my favorite
December 7, 2010
This was pretty easy to make. It is the best potato side dish ever!!!
Review 10 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaO
Eugene, OR
October 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good!
October 14, 2010
My husband wanted some sort of potato dish, so I got on WS. I found this and figured we'd give it a try, and will definitely be trying it again! Very good!
Review 11 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CindyF
New Hampshire
October 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best, easiest potato recipes ever
October 13, 2010
I LOVE this recipe & have made it 6x. I use inexpensive supermarket gruyere and get excellent results. I've made it exactly as written & tried a few variations:
I always use 1 full cup stock, substitute parsley for thyme (only because I have it) & chop the potatoes to 3/4 in cubes.
I always top mine with a bread crumb mixture of 2 T melted butter+1/4 c dry unseasoned bread crumbs+1/4 c panko+chopped parsley+grated parm+salt. I add the topping during the last 15 mins of baking. It's so good!
Variation: Instead of butter/shallot, I cook about 4 slices chopped bacon, remove/reserve the bacon and use bacon fat instead of butter to make the roux. I add the bacon back just before topping with parm and putting it in the oven.
I also made this ahead of time by preparing in the skillet, transfer to a baking dish & let it sit until you're ready to put it in the oven. I add 15 mins baking time if it's room temp and 30 mins if it's cold. This is a real time saver when preparing for company.
Review 12 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewToCooking
San Antonio, TX
October 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy!
October 4, 2010
I made this recipe last night for dinner. It turned out great! I used red potatoes instead of Yukon Gold, cheddar cheese instead of Gruyere, and a pinch of dried thyme instead of fresh thyme. My husband raved about it. Try it, you'll love it!
Review 13 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kimby88
Providence, RI
September 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Side
September 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I made using light cream, and cheddar instead, since it was what I had in my refrigerator. It didn't take long at all, and I will absolutely make it again in the future. My husband raved about it, and had several helpings.
Review 14 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clyn
September 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
September 6, 2010
Very easy, and delicious!
I doubled the amount of stock because it seemed a little thick when I put it in the oven. Turned out great. Potatoes were perfectly cooked.
Review 15 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rtmrunner
Lititz, PA
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious!!
August 30, 2010
This dish was pretty easy to make and is now one of my favorite potato dishes. The only con would be the cheese that you have to use is a bit pricey, but i think well worth it! I look forward to making it again.
Review 16 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AStar
Vista, CA
August 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Family Loved This!
August 29, 2010
Delicious! I made this for a Sunday night family dinner and everyone loved it! Very easy to make and I didn't change anything in the recipe. Will definitely keep this and use again.
Review 17 for Cheesy Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AtomicKitten
Virginia
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Potatoes!
August 5, 2010
This is one of the best potato recipes I've had from W-S. And I didn't change a thing! (Although, careful with the non-stick pan - make sure it is oven proof!)