Cheesy Meat Loaf

This meat loaf includes a delicious surprise: Cubes of mozzarella cheese are blended into the meat mixture, while shredded cheese is combined with bread crumbs and herbs to create a sublime topping. Your hands are the best tool for mixing the ground beef and other ingredients; be careful not to overmix, as the meat loaf can become too dense.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cheesy Meat Loaf
Review 1 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seguns
,Kansas City
,MO
March 7, 2014
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We LOVED IT!
March 7, 2014
Absolutely LOVED this meatloaf. I would make it my go to meatloaf recipe if it weren't so time consuming. I will make this again soon, when I have the time on my hands. So good!
Pros: Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzanneMarie
April 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just had it at a friends house...
April 21, 2013
We were at a dinner party recently and the hostess made this meatloaf. It was wonderful....she paired it with sliced roasted potatoes and green beans w/bacon. Wonderful! I immediately looked this up to make it for my family. You will not be disappointed!
Pros: Yield, Appearance
Review 3 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LillieMN
,MN
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family favorite
December 6, 2012
I have made this four times and it always gets rave reviews. It also looks exactly as pictured. Terrific recipe!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Tehachapi
,CA
October 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
T E R R I F I C!!!
October 23, 2012
This dish is delicious! This is the first time I ever made meatloaf and I loved it. My husband doesn't even like meatloaf but he loved this one :)
Highly recommend making this dish. Yummy!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewCanaanGourmet
,new canaan
,ct
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Julia Childs would have loved this Meatloaf!
October 19, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING!!! I tried it casually and even my fussy husband loved it! I have made it with and without the mushrooms and even subsituted ground turkey--all a great success. I pair it with mac and cheese using the mac/cheese starter jar from WS which was an amazing find for me this year--how can a jar of anything be good but I swear its incredible! I top the mac and cheese with panko and crumbled frenches onion rings!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VailCO
Vail, CO
August 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Meat loaf!
August 6, 2012
It's a bit time consuming because of all the ingredients but well worth it. Best meat load I've ever had.
Review 7 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaLupe
,Miami
,FL
June 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very juicy
June 28, 2012
Really good and easy, just mix and baked! Used cheddar instead of mozzarella and worked just great!
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
laila
,Montreal
,QC
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy & perfect for a small group
October 27, 2011
This was really tasty and the aroma in my kitchen was divine. One con: it came out really dry! I followed the recipe exactly, so can someone suggest what to do to keep it moist? I served the mash and gravy as suggested. I watched in horror as my fiancee (who loves all food) DOUSED the meatloaf in gravy with no leftover gravy :( What went wrong? add more water? I used medium ground beef..
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Appearance
Cons: Texture, dry dry dry!
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
VailCO
Vail, CO
Posted August 6, 2012
You can also decrease the amount of bread crumbs used. That is what I have done in the past and it hasn't been dry.
0points
Customer avatar
momchef
Houston, TX
Posted January 26, 2012
Try a pan of hot water!
I just made the Barefoot Contessa's turkey meatloaf and the recipe says to put a pan of hot water on a rack underneath your meatloaf while it bakes. The recipe was really good and moist, which surprised me since turkey is lean. The recipe didn't say what type of pan or how much water. I just used a rectangular pan and filled it halfway with water. I think you could use anything. I'm going to try this recipe next -sounds really good. Hope this helps!
0points
Customer avatar
Scot
New York, New York
Posted January 8, 2012
avoiding dry meatlof
the best way to avoid dry meatloaf is to add tomato sauce to the mix before you cook it. You will have to experiment with the amount as I never measure...too much and the meatloaf won't hang together, but it will improve if you add an egg in the mix too. Start with a scant cup and see what you think. A good jarred sauce is fine
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheena414
New York City
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scrumptious
April 7, 2011
This is the 2nd time I have made this recipe. Had a dinner party of 9 and they all asked for recipe. It is quite time consuming because of all the prep work, but so worth it. I tailored to my preferences and left out mushrooms. I also prefer shallots to onions. I prepared about 1 1/2 hours and it kept. THIS IS TOTAL COMFORT FOOD...Enjoy
Pros: Good Value, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 10 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gesswho
Holyoke, MA
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastically Great Meatloaf
January 8, 2011
I made this with my Day Care kids and we all ate it. We all loved it & I sent it to all my friends for them to try. I got back great reviews. The only thing wrong with this recipe is that the meatloaf gets eaten too fast. I am making this tonight. I have made this meatloaf so often I almost have it memorized.
Review 11 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drbunny
November 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best meatloaf
November 12, 2010
I have shared this recipe with friends, and everyone liked it as much as I did. It is a family favorite now.
Review 12 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoLuna
Washington, DC
September 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome with Ground Turkey
September 30, 2010
I decided to make ground turkey a bit more interesting by using this recipe. It turned out to be moist and flavorful. It went great the next day as sandwiches for lunch.
Review 13 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaLama42
St. Louis, MO
September 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic for weeknight or company
September 7, 2010
What a fantastic version of the classic meatloaf. We have made it for company and they were delighted to try a new meatloaf. LOVE IT
Review 14 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christina933
Atlanta, GA
August 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Meatloaf Recipe!
August 1, 2010
This is the only meatloaf that my family will eat. I also make it into mini loaves and large meatball shapes, which my family loves even more.
Review 15 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajoyce
New York, NY
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and terrific
May 15, 2010
One of the better meat loaf recipes I've made. The cheese a salty touch. I recommend adding a little water to the meat batch, for more moisture. I also used ground turkey to make it healthier. My husband and I enjoyed it very much!
Review 16 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BariDave
Villa Rica, GA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Convert meatloaf haters into meatloaf lovers
May 14, 2010
I've managed to convert a few self-professed "meatloaf haters" into meatloaf lovers with this recipe. It's a no-fail way to a moist, tasty meatloaf. I do substitute dried Porcini mushrooms for the mixed mushrooms; I just love that particular flavor.
Review 17 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glns
Florida & New York
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful for company
April 30, 2010
Wonderful meal to make ahead I usually make two put one in the freezer. Have served this to company and got fabulous
reviews.
Review 18 for Cheesy Meat Loaf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarqC
Oshkosh, WI
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort Food at it's Best!
April 30, 2010
I put this meat loaf together on a Sunday evening, and put it in the oven for dinner Monday night. We had a big snowstorm that Monday, so it was a perfect meal to eat while we 'hunkered down' and listened to the howling wind. I love all the flavors and moistness of the veggies. The recipe does take some time for prep, but doing that the day before really made for an enjoyable meal the next day. And the leftovers were delicious meatloaf sandwiches.