Celery Slaw with Shrimp

Old-fashioned coleslaw is updated here with generous additions of celery, radishes and shrimp and with Spains distinctive pimenton de La Vera, a smoked paprika. A sprinkle of crispy bacon pieces and crumbled blue cheese adds additional flavor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Celery Slaw with Shrimp
Review 1 for Celery Slaw with Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RedMre
,Willow Glen
,CA
San Jose, CA
June 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My changes to lower the sodium!
June 24, 2013
Because shrimp are high in sodium, I made some changes to reduce the total in the dish. I didn't use bacon; I used Gorgonzola rather than Maytag Blue. Other edits: cooked the shrimp in their shells for more flavor -- added some flaked red pepper to the saute, as well as the flat leaf parsley. Added fresh pea pods to the salad greens. Result is AWESOME! I served as an entree with fresh, crusty sourdough and a frigid, crisp Chadonnay-Viognier blend. YUMMERS!
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again, delish
Cons: as written too salty
Review 2 for Celery Slaw with Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsPok
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with BBQ
October 11, 2011
Friends request this slaw everytime we have a get together. I make it when my husband smokes a Boston butt. I love the texture of the slaw and sweet shrimp.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 3 for Celery Slaw with Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
reybar
Palm Desert, CA
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great as appetizer
November 27, 2010
I chopped this a bit, added a little honey, omitted the radish and put in endive leaves, topped with small slice of piquillo pepper. Made for a Thanksgriving appetizer. Everyone loved it.
Review 4 for Celery Slaw with Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NOVAcook
arlington, va
August 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Good
August 25, 2010
I made this for a light lunch to have on hand when relatives got to town and it was a huge hit. I went a little overboard on the spice on the shrimp because I misread the recipe and it was great with a little extra kick to the shrimp. Very good and easy recipe.
Review 5 for Celery Slaw with Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
americaninspain
spain
June 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent for a large group
June 9, 2010
I have made this many times for groups and EVERYONE loves it, you can make it ahead and it is filling and savory, then just add a grilled meat on the side and you have a perfect meal
Review 6 for Celery Slaw with Shrimp
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nabeela
California
May 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for picnic or bbq
May 20, 2010
I made this slaw without the shrimps. It was the perfect mix of vegetables to dressing. I don't like vegetables swimming in dressing.
I had it alongside a twice baked potato, an odd combination I know, but so good.