Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato

The wide grooves of cavatappi, a corkscrew-shaped pasta, trap the bits of sausage in this creamy sauce. If you can't find a sausage flavored with fennel, add 1/2 tsp. fennel seeds, preferably lightly crushed in a spice grinder or mortar, at the same time that you add the sausage to the pan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
Review 1 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kmv5810
PA
January 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy weeknight meal.
January 6, 2014
simple, but delicious pasta dish. makes a lot for just two people...but great leftovers.
Pros: Quick
Review 2 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bsnyder
Woodinville, WA
June 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious with a few mods
June 12, 2011
This is overall a really good dish. It makes enough for leftovers - especially when making it for 2 people as I was tonight. I was skeptical when I saw it called for a full pound of pasta, but went with it anyway. As I suspected the pasta overwhelmed the other ingredients, so I added 1/2 lb of arugula in the final phase of cooking and let it wilt a bit. Turned out great. I also added 1/2 cup of the pasta cooking water when I added the cream, which made the sauce extra creamy and it adhered to the pasta really well.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again, lots of leftovers unless you have a several diners
Cons: just use a little less pasta - maybe 3/4 lb
Review 3 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
runwithit
Wisconsin
March 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An easy favorite
March 25, 2011
This is always requested by my teenage son. So simple to put together and it's a great base recipe to make additions or changes to as you like.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eatmorechicken
lexington, ky.
August 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and simple
August 22, 2010
The only modification was that I didn't use "hot" Italian sausage. This recipe is simple, eye appealing and delicious.
Review 5 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mitserini
Pinehurst, NC
July 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
July 28, 2010
Without a doubt , the best pasta dish I've ever had. I use penne. Just fabulous.
Also, any leftover sauce can be reheated the next day and served with freshly cooked pasta again. If I could have rated it 10 stars, I would have!!!
Review 6 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CCB1
Santa Monica, CA
June 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a Quick Weeknight Dinner
June 18, 2010
Tasty and quick. I used spicy italian turkey sausage, so it was lower in calories/fat, and still super tasty.
Review 7 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOLLOYD
Kew Beach
June 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
June 14, 2010
I have prepared this many times to wide acclaim, it is easy to do, ingredients can be easily substituted in a pinch and most of the ingredients are household staples.
Review 8 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cakegirlnyc
New York, NY
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
May 26, 2010
I've made this a number of times. It is awesome and the spicy sausage adds just the right kick. I use Pomi chopped tomatoes.
Review 9 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryA
MD
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy for any occasion
May 26, 2010
My family absolutely loves this recipe. I use canned tomatoes and more cream. It turns out wonderfully.
Review 10 for Cavatappi with Sausage and Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jess
Billerica, MA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
May 14, 2010
I've made this recipe more times than I can count and it always gets rave reviews each time I make it. Its simple and quick. If you don't like hot sausage, you can always substitute sweet, and it comes out just as good.