Carrot Soup with Orange and Ginger

Pale brown, knobby fresh ginger adds a note of exotic, sweet spiciness to soups and other dishes. Look for smooth, shiny ginger with no cracks in the skin. Before slicing, chopping, mincing or grating, remove the thin skin using a sharp knife or a vegetable peeler. To grate fresh ginger, use the finest rasps on a standard handheld grater or use a specially designed ginger grater; this small, flat ceramic or light metal tool has tiny, very sharp teeth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Carrot Soup with Orange and Ginger
Review 1 for Carrot Soup with Orange and Ginger
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sashakenzie
,Union
,KY
February 15, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect anytime
February 15, 2013
This was excellent Texture was good. Color was great. really nice
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Carrot Soup with Orange and Ginger
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ingrid31
January 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good soup yet off color
January 11, 2012
It was very good, although I was wondering why it didn't come out orange. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out a puke-green kind of color. I know it was from the leeks but I found that kind of odd!
Review 3 for Carrot Soup with Orange and Ginger
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheTastebudJudge
,CA
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made this for Christmas Eve
December 25, 2011
This soup was a special treat, I altered it by adding 4 shallots instead of the leeks and my family loved it. I also garnished it with a sprig of rosemary that paired well with the flavors. I have made several carrot ginger soups that taste too gingery, but this one had the right amount so that it was a hint, but did not over power the carrots. I also loved that there was no cream required, which keeps this a healthy recipe. Another pro is that carrots are not overly expensive, and I found shallots on sale, so it ended up being a good value for a holiday meal. This will be served again in my house!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Carrot Soup with Orange and Ginger
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CaptBangs
New York, NY
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but the ginger overpowers the orange
January 2, 2011
This soup was good, but I was hoping that it would recreate one that I had in England in 1990 which was fabulous. The ratio of ginger to orange is off in this recipe: too much ginger, too little orange. I'll have to experiment!
Review 5 for Carrot Soup with Orange and Ginger
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeeSea
Portland, OR
October 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great For Cold Days
October 27, 2010
The proportions of this recipe are very accurate, the texture and consistency of this soup are as pictured. The citrus and ginger flavor help to lessen any overpowering effects of the carrots; so this soup is hearty but it doesn't feel like a chore to eat a bowl of it. This is very popular at my house during all times of the year, except perhaps during the hot days of gazpacho season. This soup is also very beautiful- the color is rich.