Carrot Cake

One of the most-requested cakes for birthdays, carrot cake, frosted with a thick layer of cream cheese frosting, is a hearty celebratory dessert that became popular in the 1970s. It is surprisingly simple to make. If desired, you can leave the cake in the pan and frost just the top for easy transport to a picnic. To make the dessert truly decadent, serve with vanilla or maple nut ice cream.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Carrot Cake
Review 1 for Carrot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Boston
,MA
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My family loves the cake
October 24, 2011
I find this cake to be absoutely fablous. One of the best carrot cake. I make this cake for extended family get togethers and always gets great reviews.
Pros: Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Carrot Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrCake
NY
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
August 4, 2011
I have been looking for a cream cheese frosting recipe whihc does not use so much sugar for quite sometime and I when I saw this recipe I thought: this is the one. Well it definetly isn't! I used a samll orange, and did not even incorporate the whole juice, but the frosting turned out very soft and runny, more like a soup!
Review 3 for Carrot Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
weim5
July 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cake - Questionable Frosting
July 5, 2011
My first WS recipe. Cake turned out beautifully. The recipe for "frosting" resulted in a watery "glaze" instead of frosting as described. Product looked nothing like icing featured in photo and was not spreadable. Perhaps powdered sugar was missed in the ingredients...or was the "frosting" actually meant to be a "glaze?" Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
Pros: Healthy
Cons: Yield, Ingredients
Review 4 for Carrot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davina
New York, NY
May 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My go-to carrot cake recipe
May 19, 2010
I have made this cake several times and I have always been asked for the recipe. Over the course of time I've substituted things like applesause for the oil, etc. but this is the best recipe I have found which is flexible when you need it to be. I bake it every year for my husband's birthday since it's his favorite cake.
Review 5 for Carrot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nana09
New York, New York
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth the time and effort
May 14, 2010
I thought I was out of my mind when I read this recipe--the finished product was a crowd pleaser for sure! Just luscious!