Carnitas

The popular "little meats" of Mexican cooking are traditionally made by slowly simmering large chunks of well-seasoned, sometimes marinated pork shoulder in hot lard, then coarsely chopping the meat and eating it wrapped in warm tortillas. In the following version, the fat content of the finished dish is dramatically diminished by simmering the meat in flavorful citrus juices. The results taste marvelously authentic.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Carnitas
Review 1 for Carnitas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
July 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Easy and Delicious!
July 14, 2013
My husband made this and absolutely rocked it! He did make a few changes due to a bigger cut of meat and personal preferences.
He used a 5lb cut and made the following additions: Used 2 cups of beer (Porch Rocker-Lemon Infused), used 5 cloves of garlic, smoked ground pepper, 1 tbs of chipotle tabasco, about 8 shakes of liquid smoke and about 2 tbs of sun dried tomato paste.
He used the oven method and cooked the carnitas at 350 for 3.5 hours. It fell off the bone.
We served these with homemade salsa, guacamole, cheese and sour cream. They were fantastic.
This makes a lot of carnitas. You will have leftovers and I imagine it would freeze nicely.
Great meal, easy prep, and very versatile. Recommended.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Carnitas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nonna2
,Long Beach
,Ca
June 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific...the best
June 21, 2013
I usually make pork carnitas in a dutch oven..This recipe was out of this world easy..My husband who is my critic loves it and he uses it all for company dinners. Guests always ask for the recipe.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Taste
Review 3 for Carnitas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cook4Partyof5
Diamond Bar, CA
December 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this recipe!
December 14, 2011
So delicious and super easy using a slow cooker. The best carnitas ever!
Review 4 for Carnitas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Efra1968
Wichita, Kansas
September 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Great Carintas!
September 3, 2011
I love making Mexican food and I usually cook the pork in a dutch oven when making carnitas. This time I used a new Cuisinart slow cooker that has multiple means of cooking incuding searing. I made this recipe and it was fall off the bone delish. My daughter happened to come by and she took some to her husband. y wife wants this to be a regular recipe for us.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Carnitas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Triciann
Indio, CA
August 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great meal for any occasion
August 31, 2011
I have made the this recipe twice and will continue to make it. It is easy and extremely delicious. You can serve it to a crowd or freeze it in the portions you want. It freezes very well. It is a must to try. I used the new Cuisnart Slow Cooker and it is great.
Pros: Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Carnitas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spokanebaker
Spokane, WA
May 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Easy and Pretty Good
May 7, 2010
This recipe was extremely easy, and I liked that you could put it in the oven after browning the meat. Mine was a bit dry, but that was probably the roast I used -- maybe there wasn't enough fat in it. I also forgot to put in the oregano, and it was still good. It probably would have been even better with the oregano!
Review 7 for Carnitas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michi789
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fiesta Get Together
May 2, 2010
Thursday nights, my friends and I get together and make a mexican based dish and margaritas. These carnitas were perfect for the occasion. I definitely recommend this and with a side of guac you can't go wrong!