Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme

Every holiday soiree needs an easy and elegant appetizer to keep guests satisfied until the main event. This recipe from Chef Justine Kelly is just the thing: simple, pretty and delicious, with caramelized onions, apples and grated Gruyere cheese atop store-bought puff pastry.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
Review 1 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HKMcElman
,Quincy
,MA
May 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great app with some changes!
May 15, 2014
This is a great little appetizer as you can make it according to the recipe or change it up. I use caramelized shallots for the WOW factor, as they are sweeter. I have used both Gruyere and Goat cheese. I made it one time with Goat cheese, caramelized shallots, pancetta and little dollops of fig preserves, I have used both the puff pastry and the little puff pastry cups, each are equally as good and functional, YUM!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KeyLimeMama
,CO
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scrumptous
February 8, 2014
I have made these tarts on two different occasions. The first time, I followed the recipe and used apples. I thought they were delicious. The second time I substituted pears for apples and WOW! Home run, although I served them for the Super Bowl so perhaps more apt to say, Touchdown!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JNic
,Norwalk
,CT
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Added some chopped walnuts
December 28, 2013
I added some chopped walnuts and used the small Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry cups (new in the stores and so easy.)
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive
Review 4 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MGGM
,Overland Park
,KS
Overland Park, KS
September 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty and original
September 6, 2013
These tartlets are very good and also original. Served them at a party and everyone was pleasantly surprised by the flavor combination of cheese, apple and onion. They're a little time consuming to make but definitely worth the time. They're even good reheated in the oven as leftovers. I'm still eating them a few days after I made them.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 5 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scsuga
,Ny
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Appetizer
December 25, 2012
Great appetizer, I added a little more cheese than the recipe and it was perfect
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaContessa17
,Bryn Mawr
,PA
December 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well-received
December 14, 2012
Followed the advice & substituted gorgonzola for the gruyere & added bacon. A bit labor intensive but worth the effort for a special party. Would also recommend checking at 20 minutes since found a bit too much charring when I checked at 22 minutes, even though the cooking seemed right on track when I rotated the pan at 12 minutes.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 7 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
landlockedinkc
,Kansas City
,MO
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just ok but no real wow factor.
November 4, 2012
I made for my holiday party in 2011. Just ok. Maybe need something else to kick it up a notch. No wow factor. I might give it one more try in the future.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable
Cons: Taste
Review 8 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0112358
,Ventura
,CA
Ventura, CA
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant, Easy, Delicious
October 27, 2012
These were so easy, tasted great, looked elegant, and are great option for a vegetarian appetizer that everyone will enjoy.
Like others have mentioned, they are easily adaptable to other cheese choices and the addition of bacon, pancetta, ham, etc.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SeaKC
October 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really good and easy
October 25, 2012
These were really good, super easy and very pretty! I will definitely make these again. I preferred more onion on my tarts, so next time I'll up the onion by a little bit.
Review 10 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aspins
October 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious appetizer!
October 15, 2012
Loved this recipe.! I made it with gorgonzola instead of gruyere and added a little bacon as another reviewer suggested. It's important to slice the onions and apples really thin (I used my mandolin.) It reheated well and although the recipe suggested serving at room temp, I liked it a little bit warm. Definitely adding this one to the "favorites" file!
Pros: Easy, Appearance
Review 11 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lajeunefille
,Annapolis
,MD
Annapolis, MD
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mediocre but pretty
June 26, 2012
This recipe was mediocre and lacked flavor. Maybe bleu cheese would have added a bit more punch. If you do make this, check your seasoning as you go. My friends liked it, so that's something. For the time and presentation it should have tasted better.
Cons: Taste, Lengthy
Review 12 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InsidePDXLiving
,Portland
,OR
June 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and Balanced
June 16, 2012
I was in a rush to find an appetizer to take to a luncheon. These were the perfect, one-bite, tasty appetizers. It was the first to go, and people really enjoyed them and wanted more. I did chop up and add cooked bacon as a garnish on top. I would make this again, and again, and again.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 13 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
joandud
,White Lake
,MI
March 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Guests loved it
March 25, 2012
I made these for guests, and they loved it. These definitely have to be served at room temp. I would cut the onions and the apple pieces smaller, leaving only 1 small apple slice on top as garnish.. Basically, this is a no brainer.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 14 for Caramelized Onion and Apple Tarts with Gruyere and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Juliev320
,Sheboygan
,Wi
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great hot or cold
February 4, 2012
Made this three times now, all were good. Used goat cheese instead of gruyere. Added some crushed bacon! Loved this!
I have to remember to write how many cups of apples and onions instead of pounds. Does anybody have this figured out?
Also, I just guessed at amount of chives and thyme when using dried.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, can make ahead