Caramel Sea Salt Truffles

Using coarse sea salt crystals on the caramel gives added texture and a burst of flavor to these candies, but fine sea salt can be used as well. You can also add a tiny sprinkle of sea salt to the chocolate coat for a sparkling finish.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caramel Sea Salt Truffles
Review 1 for Caramel Sea Salt Truffles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Syracuse,
,NY
October 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melted Truffles
October 27, 2014
My boyfriend and I followed the directions, and the caramel balls lost there shape. We ended up with very messy pancakes.
Not sure what happened, any suggestions?
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture, Yield
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Melzie
Buffalo
Posted November 23, 2015
Help with truffles
I've made a different variation of these and they were amazing. Use heavy whipping cream instead of heavy cream. It will hold up better. And instead of making your own caramel, I just used Ghiradelli chocolate with caramel and it was fine. Much less of a hassle then the Carmel on the stove. I also didn't use corn syrup, I think it messes with the science in making these, plus it's added sugar.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Caramel Sea Salt Truffles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
May 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Caramel was far too hard
May 21, 2014
Seemed to go well, followed directions with the candy thermometer. Caramel turned out way to hard and chewy to enjoy. Threw out the batch.
Cons: Texture
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Melzie
Buffalo
Posted November 23, 2015
Different recipe?
If you still want to try caramel truffles, melt a whole package of the Ghiradelli chocolate squares with caramel with about 5 tbsp butter and heavy whipping cream instead of heavy cream. It makes it much easier than making your own caramel.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Caramel Sea Salt Truffles
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Oklahoma City
,OK
December 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Portion Size is Troublesome
December 5, 2012
The suggested "portion size" is really too big considering how chewy the caramel is. Because I noticed this while I was making them, I switched mid-batch. The teaspoon-sized balls were much more manageable.
Word to the wise, if you do not have little sticks or toothpicks to manuever these little guys, the chocolate coating portion will be very tricky (and messy).
The entire process was time consuming, but if you plan ahead, it shouldn't be a problem.
Pros: Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Caramel Sea Salt Truffles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,New Braunfels
,TX
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good introduction to candy making
March 11, 2012
This was the first time I've worked with candy. It really is a simple recipe, but a few mistakes caused me to make it 3 times before I got it right. I highly recommend a digital thermometer with a temperature notification alert. My first batch got too hot and I ended up with a bunch of hard candies! Also, let your chocolate cool for about 15 minutes before dipping. Second batch got melted from hot chocolate. I decorated by drizzling white chocolate over the cooled truffles. I also used a teaspoon to measure each portion instead of a tablespoon. I found them easier to eat. The flavor is fantastic! Enjoy!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: very temperature-sensitive