Caramel Apple Pie

Laced with homemade caramel sauce, this apple pie makes the perfect finale for an autumn meal. When preparing the sauce, stir only during the first 2 to 3 minutes of cooking, as instructed below.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caramel Apple Pie
Review 1 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molly0812
,Cleveland
,OH
December 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd pleaser!
December 24, 2013
Hi made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! It was somewhat time consuming, but completely worth it. Everyone raved. I was actually asked to make it again for Christmas. I know some people said they would use less apples, but I wouldn't do anything different. I used the Emile Henry ruffled pie dish and it was deep enough to accommodate all the apples. Highly recommend!
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeaS2
,San Jose
,CA
December 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pie!
December 4, 2012
If you are using a standard 9" pie dish, then I agree ... 4 lbs of apples is too much. However, if you are using a deep dish pie pan like the recipe calls for, I'm sure 4 lbs is fine. That said, I only cooked the apples for about 12-15 mins, stirring occasionally and the apples turned out fine. Everyone loved the pie! Especially the caramel!! I had to make extra caramel sauce to drizzle over the pie slices and over the vanilla bean ice cream!! It's a bit time consuming but worth it! Love this recipe!!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Caramel Apple Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,oh
September 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tangy but sweet pie
September 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but i had premade crust. Next time i will do 3 pounds instead or get a bigger dish. I cooked it over 20 minutes but i had it on low, i just have stainless steel pots and pans. I will cook it slightly shorter then before because some of the pieces have an applesauce texture but some of the pieces are just right.
Caramel sauce is a little grainy but it doesnt bother me. I love the taste, i made extra for ice cream,etc...
I will make this again for my Thanks giviing and i recommended it to friends/family.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy, somewhat costly, texture is kinda off but decent enough to eat
Review 4 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
360daysofsun
,Phoenix
,AZ
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best apple pie ever
November 28, 2011
This is easily the best apple pie I've ever made. I used a pre-made piecrust to save time, and used about half granny smith and half honeycrisp apples but otherwise followed the recipe. Love the caramel sauce which was very easy to make. Thanksgiving guests loved it - this one is a keeper.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
angiekay
,Sonoma
,CA
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Caramel applel goodness
November 27, 2011
My family flipped over this pie. It was easy to make. After reading other reviews, I kept the cooking time for the apples down to 15 minutes and they were perfect. I also used a premade crust to save time. The caramel sauce, I made extra of so that we could use it on other things also. It is very decadent.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbhomebody
,Orondo
,WA
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Caramel Apple Heaven bite after bite!
November 24, 2011
This is delicious & suprisingly simple. The caramel is relatively easy to make and some of the best I've ever had. I didn't have cream so I mixed 2% milk with sweetened condensed evaporated milk to finish the caramel sauce. I made this pie a deep dish to hold all the gooey-yummy caramel goodness. This pie will impress family and friends. YUM!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mnm081201
,Cashmere
,WA
November 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW!! Absolute the best apple pie receipe!
November 12, 2011
my sister found this recipe in last years recipe book.. We just threw it together last minute for a special treat for a family gathering.. WOW.. you really made us look GOOD!!
Review 8 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inkgoddess
Scottsdale, AZ
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow, oh Wow!!!
December 2, 2010
Such a beautiful pie, I wanted to try it for Thanksgiving, and have to say it turned out wonderfully! The recipe was not too complex, and it was easily followed. The flavors are incredible, the crust was perfect, and the caramel sauce was truly decadent! What an awesome treat! It's now on my family's "most requested" list!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
movinonmom
Frazier Park, Ca
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Carmel was Amazing!
November 28, 2010
Awesome Pie! and I am not a big fan of apple pie generally. I used the 4lbs of apples, I didn't count the slices per apple though. I used my Le Cruset pie plate and the Basic pie dough on this site and used the leaf cutouts which were so easy and added to the beauty of the pie, and like everyone else said the Carmel was to die for and I will use that recipe often. Pie was so beautiful my daughters were taking pictures of it.
Review 10 for Caramel Apple Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
flyingflower
CA
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sadly it was a disaster
November 23, 2010
How upsetting it was to lift the lid of my All-Clad dutch oven after 15 minutes and find APPLESAUCE! I followed the recipe to the letter and it was totally ruined because the cooking time was completely off. The caramel sauce came out perfect and I bet the pie would have been really good too had I checked the apples more frequently. Don't turn your back on those apples while they're cooking!
p.s. I agree, the amount of slices you get from 4 lbs of apples is ridiculous.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mallikii
Wisconsin
Posted January 9, 2011
Be careful
I agree that this is possible but understand the recipe says check often and cook until just tender. The time is an estimate and it can vary by type of apples, type of dutch oven, type of stove, etc. I am about to make this and I will take this into consideration.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaVicki
Vicksburg, MI
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Receipe To Impress Your Friends Dessert
November 16, 2010
This pie is VERY good. I've never cooked with green apples before because of the tartness. I will always use green apples from now on, only making this apple pie recipe. The caramel was the best EVER. I've passed your recipe on to several people. Thank you so much for publishing it.
Review 12 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marbella
New York, NY
November 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Pie
November 14, 2010
Pie was great. I could bathe in the caramel alone. Do not understand the need to lessen the apples. I actually increased to a 5 lb. bag with no problems. Just rolled out the top crust larger. I love a 'sky high' pie.
Review 13 for Caramel Apple Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MattB23
Clifton, NJ
November 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty Good, Like all of the previous reviews.
November 12, 2010
My pie was overall pretty well, Not done, but I tasted the apple mixture and it was great! I made this as a test-run before thanksgiving, to see if it was worth making The pie was so flavorful and the caramel was amazing! I would even make this caramel for ice cream and such... the crust was homemade using the attached recipe and was great! the pie crust cutters were an easy and decorative touch! I didnt use the Emile Henry ruffled pie dish, but instead i used a Le Creuset Deep Dish Pie Dish, which worked out amazing! However, i didnt use enough apples and instead of having a dome ontop, i had a crater :( and i overcooked the apples, so i had slightly chunky applesauce..i did it for 15 min...i would HIGHLY recommend doing it for less. Overall, Great pie. Worth it in the end!
~TIPS~
~Use 3.5 lbs of apples, you cna always take some out.
~Cook apples in dutch oven for 10 (maybe less) min.
~Keep plastic wrap over Caramel to avoid Caramel with "crust".
Review 14 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhay
Ft Myers Florida
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing tasting pie
November 8, 2010
I made this pie for the first time yesterday. I do wish I saw the reviews first because I completely agree 4 pounds is too much. When I poured them in the pie crust I had to take out some so my hubby just ate them.
The caramel sauce for me was perfectly smooth and delicious. Not grainy at all like another reviewer mentioned.
I do not have a fancy dutch oven so a few of my apples were mushy (those are the ones I took out) but 95% of them were just perfectly fork tender at 20 minutes.
I am not a huge apple pie fan so the caramel component for me in this dish seals the deal. It is perfect and I highly reccomend it. This recipe was challenging for me as a new cook and baker but if I was able to do it anyone can. I did not make my own dough. Once I get more comfortable i n the kitchen and have more tools, I will try that. I used Pillsbury dough and it worked out fine in my Emile Henry pan.
Review 15 for Caramel Apple Pie
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Aeneas
Seattle area
October 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This recipe overcooks the apples
October 19, 2010
I agree with the previous post that 4 pounds of apples is too many. I followed their advice and used 3 pounds and this was just right for sizing purposes.
I would add that cooking the apples for 20 minutes in a dutch oven created about 50% applesauce. Next time I will cut that time in half as the pie must also go through an additional 60-70 minutes at 400 degrees for baking.
The other difficulty with this recipe is that the added caramel to the body of the apple mixture created an off-color of grey-brown that was not appealing or appetizing to look at. Save the caramel sauce for drizzling over the top during serving.
This caramel sauce was rather 'grainy'. Maybe a different caramel recipe would make a smoother mouth-feel overall.
The flavor of this pie was delish!
Review 16 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paula1028
Jasper, Alabama
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Caramel Apple Pie
October 18, 2010
I prepared this pie over the weekend and it is so easy, and simply amazing. My boyfriend said it was the "perfect apple pie, not too tart and not too sweet." The caramel sauce turned out beautifully, and I will definitely be making again. I used 3.5 pounds of Granny Smith Apples and it was the perfect amount. I also added 2 TB of Bourbon. Delicious.
Review 17 for Caramel Apple Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nesa
NY
October 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great but less apples
October 8, 2010
Great but 4 Ibs is too much apples.
Next time I would reduce to 2.5 Ibs - 3Ibs.