Caesar Salad

The Caesar salad enjoyed a major resurgence in popularity in the late 1980s, and the trend has continued to this day, with many restaurants offering one on their menus. This modern version addresses the health concerns a lot of people have about the traditional method of enriching the dressing with a coddled egg.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caesar Salad
Review 1 for Caesar Salad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DonnaMarie11
New York
May 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great easy homemade dressing
May 4, 2011
Have made this dressing several times and everyone loves it. I added more garlic because my family can't get enough garlic. I also used fat free plain Greek yogurt, trying to cut down on the fat. The taste is delish and very easy to make.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Caesar Salad
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PMartin
Waukesha, WI
April 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yogurt replaces the egg
April 29, 2011
I really like the yogurt in place of the egg. And it makes a nice, creamy dressing, which I also like. I would use a bit less oil next time as it's a little too much for my taste. Freshly grated parmesan is definitely a must, too, as is freshly grated pepper. But overall, this is quite good, and I'll make again.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Caesar Salad
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
foodfreak
Jacksonville, FL
February 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yogurt? Really?
February 18, 2011
Since when was Caesar a creamy dressing...with yogurt? The original recipe for this dish does not contain any creamy ingredients. It is a mustard based dressing. But Caesar Salad in this country has become a pile of romaine with creamy Italian dressing. Blewagh!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
grubs
Fairfield, CT
Posted December 16, 2011
Not relevant
Don't know if you were just reading the recipe or actually tried it. First, it does have mustard in it. Second, the yogurt is used in place of egg. The result is an extremely flavorful dressing, that tastes quite 'Ceasary' but without the unhealthy egg yolk. I've made this for many different people and it gets raves.
0points
Customer avatar
KPretty
La Crescenta, CA
Posted May 2, 2011
Top 100 Contributor
Substitute
The yogurt is meant as a substitute for the raw eggs, for those people who fear salmonella poisoning. Some people also use heavy cream instead of the raw eggs.
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Caesar Salad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grubs
Fairfield, CT
August 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Caesar Salad dressing
August 2, 2010
We are big fans of Caesar Salad, and are always looking for a better recipe. This is definitely one of the best we've had. Simple to make (I usually skip the crouton making - alot of extra work for not much added flavor), fairly light, but quite flavorful. The use of the plain yogurt is the key.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Beingbridge
CA
Posted March 22, 2011
Caesar salad recipe
Actually, the original Caesar salad had raw egg, olive oil, Worcestershire sauce, and anchovies.
I am going to try this one just to taste.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Caesar Salad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
charleen
acworth,Ga
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and healthy even for weekday meals
May 15, 2010
An easy caesar salad recipe that tastes good and is easy to make. my husband loves it.
The dressing can be made in larger batches and used on other types of salad greens and also as a sauce on mild white fish. Great Recipe