Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"

A garnish of pork "croutons" adds a savory note to this autumnal soup. The croutons are easy to make: cut a slab of pork belly into small batons, then cook them in a bit of olive oil on the stovetop until crispy.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
Review 1 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superyummy
,Dallas
,Tx
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME!!!!
November 30, 2013
I make this every Christmas!!!! It is the best ever super delicious.
Review 2 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SusieLovesToCook
,Arlington Heights
,IL
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and comforting
January 27, 2013
This is the best soup I've ever had. It took me about 2 hours to make, but it makes6-8 servings and tastes amazing! The first time I cut up an entire butternut squash. Second time got lazy and used 30 oz. of frozen chopped squash. I couldn't really taste any difference. I didn't have pork belly so I used chopped and fried pancetta. Bacon would also work. The salty pork contrasts nicely with the smooth, somewhat sweet soup.
Hints: Roast carrots and squash on parchment paper and check after 30 minutes--45 minutes was too long and the veggies burned and stuck to tray. I froze the soup before adding whole milk or half/half. It froze well.
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious great texture
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovemykitchen
,Yorba Linda
,CA
Orange County, California
December 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scrumptious Soup
December 31, 2011
Made this soup for Christmas Eve dinner-party of 7. Was a huge hit!. Delicious, easy to make, and would definitely make again! First time making a butternut squash soup--thiis reminded me of soups I have enjoyed in fine restaurants. Enjoy!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shuffleberries
,Indianapolis
,IN
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new FAVORITE soup
December 18, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic and SO easy to make. The flavor was outstanding and it made a substantial portion-- enough for 4 adults and a toddler (who also loved it!) as a main dish, everyone got seconds, and there were leftovers for the next day. I have a very busy work schedule and wanted something healthy and simple (and different!) for dinner, and was able to whip this up quickly and feed our surprise guests! I did not use the pork croutons and substituted vegetable stock concentrate for the chicken, which added a lovely rich flavor. I also didn't use any of the fresh herbs, but it definitely didn't lack any flavor and we didn't miss them-- it was VERY rich! All of these ingredients are staples at our house so I didn't have to go out and buy "gourmet" expensive ingredients for a wonderfully gourmet-tasting dish. We are definitely adding this to our best-loved recipes!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, taste!
Review 5 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delicieux
,CA
December 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A hit for a Christmas get together
December 13, 2011
This soup looked beautiful in the red pot. It took me a while to make but was well worth it. I didn't use the pork belly fat as I wanted it to be healthy with fewer calories, it was delicious as is. I also used fresh chicken stock, and added only one ounze of cream instead of the full cup, the soup was very creamy on its own, I even contemplated not using the cream at all. I might not next time. Everyone loved it and went for seconds. Some people didn't care for the colour, so garniture is important with green parsley leaves.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stitcher2
,Barrie
,ON
December 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Delicious
December 2, 2011
This soup was easy to make and really delicious! It's very filling and freezes well. It will be a real favorite fall and winter soup!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feisty
,New York
,NY
November 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scrumpdillicious!
November 30, 2011
Wonderful soup! Sounded delicious upon reading and tasted delicious upon eating. If you are not used to eating a lot of salt, then I would recommend using low sodium broth. I would also recommend cutting up all your ingredients first so that the onions, etc. have time to caramelize while the veggies are roasting.
Additionally, I have dietary restrictions and found a non-dairy, non-soy cream replacement, that I don't think they'll allow me to name, (not ok for those with nut allergies) that has the right consistency and does not alter the taste. So do some research and don't be afraid to try it!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again, delicious!
Cons: Lengthy
Review 8 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Krystin
,New York
,NY
Queens, NY
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warm, Comforting and Easy
November 26, 2011
First time making this soup and I have to say it was the easiest soup I've ever made. The house smells like Fall. I took some short cuts and bought the butternut squash peeled and cut up. I would make couple of small adjustments - use of small onion instead of large, and 2 Granny Smiths instead of one, and pinch of nutmeg. Onion was a bigger flavor than I expected and I'd prefer more apple flavor if possible. But silky, smooth and delicious. I made the soup the night before my dinner party and added the cream the day of service when I brought the soup back up to temperature. It had a fresh taste and everyone loved it. Two of my guests are on restricted diets and this recipe met all the requirements. It was a nice start to our holiday meal.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryAnnesKitchen
,Jacksonville
,FL
November 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG Do Over Soup
November 23, 2011
I was trying to find a way to incorporate another vegetable into my Thanksgiving menu that everyone would like. I was tired of the same old stuff. My son asked me for a pumpkin soup recipe and I suggested this one which was written up in the WS November catalog. Then I decided to try it after reading the ingredients. Trying to get ahead of the game, I prepared the soup on Tuesday before Thanksgiving. Can I tell you that this is absolutely DELICIOUS? It takes a little time, but it's easy. When I tasted the end result for seasonings (it didn't need any more) I was delighted at the wonderful flavor which
so surpassed my expectations. I am considered an exceptional cook among those I have fed through the years and have even written my own cookbook. So, I know "amazing" when I taste it. This is a do over and I know I'll be asked to make it again and again. Thanks, WS for great recipes!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Butternut Squash-Carrot Soup with Pork "Croutons"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DizzyMissLizzy
,Minneapolis
,MN
November 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sensational Fall or Winter Soup
November 5, 2011
This one is fabulous! The addition of the pork croutons (I used smoked ham) is a perfect accompaniment to to the rich and creamy taste of this soup. A healthy substitute for the cream is fat free half & half. Refrigerate for a day to let the flavors develop - you won't be sorry. This is a very healthy lunch or dinner, served with a crusty bread.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again