Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

With its sweet, earthy taste, butternut squash soup is a favorite for Thanksgiving. Here, we prepare the soup in a slow cooker, which helps to deepen and meld the flavors. It also frees up valuable space on your stovetop. For added convenience, we use a stick blender to puree the soup directly in the slow cooker. A slow cooker is handy not just for Thanksgiving dinner but whenever you are entertaining and stovetop and oven space are at a premium. You can prepare a dish hours in advance, be it a soup, stew or braised meat, and let the food cook unattended. Then the cooker keeps the nished dish warm until serving time. This appliance is also ideal for cooking weeknight meals for the family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
Review 1 for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rhobe
,Rancho Mirage
,ca
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TOOOOOOOOOOOOO salty!
January 22, 2013
I didn't see any comments about this but unless you use no/low sodium chicken stock, the addition of 3 tsp. of salt is WAY too much-I had to use 2 more apples & a fair amount of agave nectar to counteract the salt.
Cons: Taste
Review 2 for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TessLynn
,Garden City
,KS
October 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better when not overly pureed.
October 8, 2011
I have made this soup twice now, and just bought butternut squash again yesterday to make it once more!
The first time I made this, it was because I wanted to give it a test-run before making it at Thanksgiving. I followed all of the directions, and the flavor of the soup turned out great, but for my husband and I, it became too smooth and pureed when I blended it with my hand blender--we prefer a slightly more rustic soup.
So when I made it for actual Thanksgiving, I took care to leave it slightly more chunky, with visible pieces of apple. The results were perfect! I am so excited to have this recipe in my list of Thanksgiving musts! Fresh croutons are an absolute must!
Making it in the slow cooker saved me the trouble of having to do much of anything--a fix and forget part to Thanksgiving...fantastic!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BonMangeur
Illinois
September 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Fall Soup!
September 19, 2010
What a fun fall treat! The recipe is easy to follow and quick to make. We topped the soup with scallions and crispy bacon, too. Next time we'd like to try a little red pepper for just a touch of heat.
Review 4 for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Antonette
Michigan
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone Loves This
May 14, 2010
My family and guests love this soup...I sometimes add crispy chopped bacon as a garnish along with a slice of apple.
Review 5 for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skiingmomof3
North shore, MA
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty soup!
May 1, 2010
This soup is so tasty and easy to make.
I made this as a starter on Christmas and it was enjoyed by all.
Review 6 for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carol2
South Lyon MI
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great on a cold winter day.
April 30, 2010
Best recipe for Butternut soup. It is creamy and satisfying.
Review 7 for Slow-Cooker Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tg21
Sarasota FL
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy soup to make quickly
April 30, 2010
This is a very tasty soup. I have served it to company and they always ask for the recipe. Great to have the ingredients on hand and you are always ready for company or for own family.