Buttermilk Pancakes

Production of buttermilk is a little different than it was 50 years ago. In days gone by, buttermilk was the liquid that remained after cream was churned into butter. Today, commercial buttermilk is made by combining low-fat or nonfat milk with a natural bacteria that converts the milk sugars into acids, producing a thick, soured milk. In baked goods as well as pancakes, buttermilk acts as a leavening agent when combined with baking soda. This creates gas bubbles, resulting in light, fluffy pancakes with a rich flavor.Pancakes are always a treat for breakfast, and they're even more fun to eat when cooked in whimsically shaped molds. For instructions on using pancake molds, please click on the tip at left.
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Buttermilk Pancakes
Review 1 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mxm242
January 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make and taste great
January 19, 2014
Ever since I tried this recipe I will never go back to the boxed pancake mixes again. These pancake are super easy to make and taste great, I like them better than the pancakes at ihop.
Review 2 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Megrie
,Lancaster
,PA
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best pancakes
October 18, 2011
These are the best pancakes. I make them every Sunday. (Sometimes I add some fruit) They are easy, light, and fluffy.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, Yield, Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly
Review 3 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bagular
Brooklyn, NY
August 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a Special Breakfast
August 27, 2011
I made this recipe this morning and everyone loved it. It was simple to make and I will add this to my list of special breakfast menus.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3xboys
novato, CA
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best pancakes ever!
July 18, 2011
my boys love these pancakes and refer to them as the best pancakes ever! we will never use any other pancake recipe again, these are the best. very easy to make and delicious. thanks for sharing and for helping to make our morning breakfast extra yummy.
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JasonStudent
San Francisco
July 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection
July 17, 2011
I have been trying pancake recipe after pancake recipe every weekend for longer than I'd care to admit. I need not look any further...these are it! No need to get the lumps out; I also refrigerated the batter for 10 minutes or so while waiting for the family to stumble out of bed, and no harm done. I might try it with less butter in the future (my mouth is coated). Suffice it to say no oil was necessary with my nonstick.
Also, I cut it in half with no issues.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 6 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pancakeconvert
Modesto, CA
May 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Ultimate Pancakes
May 24, 2011
Wow!! This is the only way to describe these wonderful pancakes because there are no words. They are SOOOO GOOD. Light, fluffy, tasty and as my seven year old put it, Lacy. These are truly the best pancakes on earth.
Thank you Williams-Sonoma for this amazing recipe. I will no longer buy boxed pancake mixes.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
noyenta
Baldwinsville, NY
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pancakes ever.
February 10, 2011
Generally I don't care for pancakes but these are amazing! Easy to follow recipe that even kids can do or help with. Perfect texture every time.
We add wild blueberries or mini chocolate chips for a change.
Review 8 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
discotetris
San Antonio, Texas
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They're so Fluffy!!
January 5, 2011
This is one of the better buttermilk pancake recipes I've tried. Most importantly, they were a hit with my kids. Will definitely use again and again!
Review 9 for Buttermilk Pancakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jenny07
Florida
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Taste but Doughy
January 2, 2011
These pancakes have a wonderful taste but they do not cook well. I have some family recipes that I have historically used to make pancakes but did not want to unpack multiple boxes to find the recipe (just moved into a new home). I used brand new ingredients that were opened this week (baking soda etc.) and went through several test pancakes but could never get them to cook through (even with my cooktop on 2). They were light but doughy even close to the edges. I would not make this recipe again.
Review 10 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momx2
Northern Virginia
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just brilliant
December 23, 2010
I am somewhat of a pancake connoisseur and am always on the hunt for the "perfect" pancake recipe...no need to look any more! These are outstanding and delicious...fluffly, just a touch sweet. My kids and husband gobble them up without hesitation. If you don't have buttermilk on hand, you can mix one cup of whole milk with one tablespoon of white vinegar and let it sit five minutes...does the trick perfectly. This is my go-to recipe at least twice a week, often for dinner!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Greenstone920
Posted January 2, 2011
I often will use vinegar and milk in place of buttermilk, but since this recipe also calls for baking soda/powder, I recommend using lemon juice in place of the vinegar, or you end up with a rather foamy batter.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1gr8shopper
New Orleans, LA
October 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pancake Recipe!
October 23, 2010
These pancakes were DELICIOUS! I have been in search for a great pancake recipe. My search is officially over because these pancakes were light and fluffy with a great taste. Not too sweet ... just right. It doesn't hurt that they were quick and easy to prepare. This one is a keeper. Thank you Williams Sonoma.
I cant wait to try them with a pancake mold.
Review 12 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apolline
Boston, MA
September 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This Recipe Has Stolen My Heart
September 1, 2010
Pancakes are one of my favorite foods; they are so comforting and yet so easy to make! Over the years I have had many relationships with different pancake recipes and box mixes; yet none can compare to these buttermilk pancakes! They make for a perfect sunday breakfast or just any old rainy morning! My favorite addition to these pancakes is a combination of raspberries, blueberries and chocolate chips! Buttery, tangy, and sweet!
Review 13 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TaosKitchen
Vancouver, BC
May 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the best
May 21, 2010
I love the vanilla in these pancakes, just a little je ne sais quoi to make it special.
Review 14 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
motokelly
Grand Rapids, MI
May 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dream Pancakes
May 21, 2010
Thank you again, Williams-Sonoma! These pancakes are light, fluffy, easy-to-make, and absolutely DELICIOUS! I recommend this recipe with no hesitation.
Review 15 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PassionateChief
Fairburn, GA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have tried many this one is tried and true
April 30, 2010
Since I have been a Mom it was my greatest cooking challenge to prepare the best possible Saturday Morning buttermilk pancakes for my family. After trying many recipes I always came up a little short, having to default to my Mom to save our morning meals. But I found this recipe and have never looked back. This is a tried and true formula for the perfect pancake every time. They come out light and fluffy perfect texture. Grab your favorite maple syrup and enjoy your weekend! Get creative and add strawberries, blueberries go wild add bananas :)
Review 16 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gray
Prattville, AL
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family pleasing pancakes
April 30, 2010
These are the best pancakes hands down. They take a little more effort but are worth it. I fixed these for Christmas morning breakfast and they were a huge hit.
Review 17 for Buttermilk Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RolyPoly
Nevada
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious
April 30, 2010
I love these pancakes! They turn out light and moist, and my family loves them. It is worth using real buttermilk rather than some of the common substitutions.