Buttermilk-Brined Turkey

Soaking the turkey in a saltwater brine produces tender, juicy meat. In this recipe our brine mixture also includes buttermilk, which adds flavor to the turkey and helps keep the meat moist.
Average Customer Rating:
4.96 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
25 of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
Review 1 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
logicalhenry
,Tamarac
,FL
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and moist!
November 30, 2013
This was by far the best turkey we have ever had! Every bite was moist and delicious, even the white meat left overs! Brined a 20lb turkey for 48 hours and it was perfect. I will use this method every year and will try it with chickens very soon! Thank you!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again, incredibly delicious
Review 2 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RyanT
,Highland
,UT
November 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brine available?
November 25, 2013
I'm a bit confused at the first ingredient "Turkey Brine." Brine is technically the complete liquid solution, is it not?
Is the recipe referring to the Williams-Sonoma Brining Blend product in the link below? If so, it's not available anymore. Anyone have a substitute?
http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/williams-sonoma-turkey-brine/
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Charlie14760
NY
Posted November 26, 2013
Same Question
With such great reviews we are going to use this recipe, but also wonder about the first ingredient...Is "turkey brine" the complete liquid solution?
0points
Customer avatar
Charlie14760
Posted November 26, 2013
I think I maybe wondering the same thing, is the Turkey Brine supposed to be prepared or still the salt mixture?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardnerh
,Beavercreek
,OR
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievably Moist and Tasty
October 26, 2013
We used this recipe on a 43 pound tom turkey last year and it was wonderful. We raised the turkey ourselves so it had not been injected with any kinds of chemicals to moisten it. We thought it was going to be dry and tough, but the buttermilk saved Thanksgiving. Thank you so much for the idea. We'll use it again this year on our 19 and 15 pound hens.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, really worked
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SarahBB
,Elizabeth City
,NC
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best!!
November 23, 2012
So my mother and I were in the store buying our usual stuffing mix when the saleswoman gave her sales pitch about brining a turkey. Another customer piped in and raved about it also and said she would never do another Turkey without brining first. So I bought the stuff and I can honestly say this Turkey turned out the best EVER!!! So juicy and flavorful!!! The hardest part was talking my mother into doing it (b/c she is set in her ways and dosn't like change). She even thought is was the best ever and will be doing it again EVERY year!!!
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 5 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeacherAnn
,Manitowoc
,WI
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Most Moist Turkey Ever
November 22, 2012
There really is some magic with the buttermilk in this recipe. This is the 3rd year I have made it and I will never make a turkey another way. The star anise that is in the Williams Sonoma brine mix really imparts a nice taste and scent to the bird as well. Like another reviewer, I did have to baste with chicken stock for the first two hours. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, taste
Review 6 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StaceyH
,Mount Pleasant
,WI
November 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Turkey Ever
November 18, 2012
I hosted Thanksgiving for the first time ever last year. I used a fresh turkey and the Buttermilk Brine recipe. It was the best tasting turkey ever. I am making it again this year. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Thank you!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pdxbaker13
,Portland
,OR
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!!
November 28, 2011
I just used this recipe for my Thanksgiving Day turkey this year and my oh my what results! Everyone raved about how juicy and flavorful the turkey was. This turkey was probably the best one I have ever had and I come from a family of wonderful cooks. Generally the breast can get dry while you are trying to get the thighs done enough but with this recipe every part of the turkey was extremely juicy!
I followed the recipe exactly, but brined for 36 hrs. I also tented with foil after about 30 min of roasting as I could tell the breasts were going to brown too fast without it.
This turkey not only presents beautifully but it tastes amazing!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Mankato
,MN
November 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melt-in-your-mouth tender!
November 25, 2011
The very best turkey I have ever made - you can literally cut through it with a table fork it was so tender. W&S shines through on its recipes, so I will have to stick with them for those. Now, all we need is some "real" sales, and online contests that work!
(I did have to add broth for basting)
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MichelleIG
,FL
November 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definitely a Winner!
November 25, 2011
I'm not much of a turkey person myself but everyone raved about how great the turkey was. I had never brined a turkey before because i thought it would be very difficult. I was so wrong! Couldn't be simpler. However, I found the breast to be a bit on the dry side despite taking out as soon as the temperature was right. Next time i will probably use an injector to make sure the breasts get some moisture. Otherwise it was perfect.
Pros: Easy
Review 10 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LWfromTEXAS
,Wichita Falls
,TX
Wichita Falls, TX
November 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best way ever
November 17, 2011
I have used the buttermilk brine from WS for several years now but with one change of method adapted from New Joys of Cooking. Instead of cooking breast side up...I start breast side down on a V shaped rack. and then after 2 1/2 hours I remove from oven and flip the turkey (using crumpled up aluminum foil to protect my fingers) and then baste and return to finish cooking. I have had rave reviews that the breast is so much more moist than "other" turkeys. The only draw back if appearance is the most important thing to you...there are rack mark indentions in the breast when you flip the turkey...it's not unsightly...but just not perfect!
Pros: Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Gage
Posted September 3, 2012
You're absolutely right! I've used the technique for years. If you wrap the V-shaped wire rack in aluminum foil, and then poke holes in the foil to allow fluids to drain, you will avoid the rack marks on the breast. Suggest you use "heavy duty" foil or wrap the rack several times. Hope this helps!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLGWBG
October 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Best Turkey Ever
October 10, 2011
Made this yesterday for our Canadian Thanksgiving. It was the BEST turkey ever! I will forevermore brine turkey in buttermilk. We cooked it on the big green egg, directly on the grill with the plate setter holding a drip tray. It was amazing! Thank you William's Sonoma chefs for this recipe.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, juicy
Review 12 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MollyJo
orange county, ca
May 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Turkey Recipe
May 9, 2011
When hosting Thanksgiving got passed onto me, I went for this recipe. It was, by far, the best turkey we've ever had, everyone agreed. It cooked perfectly, not dry, very moist. The flavor was excellent. This will forever stay in my recipe book.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 13 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dixieB
Atherton, CA
January 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TRY IT ON CHICKENS TOO!
January 14, 2011
I have used the buttermilk-brined turkey recipe for past three 3 years and it's always great. I buy extra, reduce the quantities of ingredients, and use it for roasted/rotisserie chickens and they are also great.
Review 14 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cousinei
Pittsburgh, PA
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Turkey
November 29, 2010
I was a little skeptical at first with the dry rub & buttermilk but it tasted delicious!...Can't wait to make it again....The meat was moist and very flavorful. It browned to a deep mahogany & looked picture perfect.
Review 15 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McIntireCook
Morrow, Ohio
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptionally Tender & Juicy!
November 29, 2010
What a BIG difference brining made as far as juiciness, flavor, and tenderness! I'll brine every year from now on! I used the buttermilk recipe along with the Williams Sonoma brining mix. So easy! FYI, I also used an organic, fresh turkey. I roasted the bird breast side down for the first two hours. The oven was set at 425 for the first 15 minutes, then down to 325 for the remainder of the roasting time. I highly recommend this method -- it made a big difference!
Review 16 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rking
Columbus, OH
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing but compliments!
November 25, 2010
I do not, repeat, do not cook often, but I offered to try to cook a bird this year. My mom-in-law is quite the cook so my husband is used to amazing turkey dinners... He (and other guests) said this was the juiciest turkey he's ever had! The 24 hr brining made the difference. I will say though, that after an hour, there was not much pan juice for basting, so we added a bit of chicken stock so we could baste the turkey with something. Otherwise, amazing recipe!
Review 17 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uncomplicatedlife
Jacksonville Fl.
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pleasantly suprised
November 23, 2010
I used to just brine the bird until last year when I found this recipe.
Big improvement!! Did not have to toss any left over turkey for a change.
Going to use this again with a different (cheaper) turkey this year and see if it makes a difference.
Review 18 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrolla
Columbia, SC
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best turkey ever!!
November 18, 2010
This will be the 3rd year in a row that I will use this brining recipe. I have been cooking Thanksgiving turkeys for years and can honestly say that the W/S Brining Blend and buttermilk is absolutely the best I have ever done. Everyone raved about how juicy, tender and flavorful it was! It is totally worth the effort with the prep. (Taste for salt when you prepare the gravy from the drippings.)
Review 19 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kukla
Granada Hills, CA
November 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best turkey you will ever eat!
November 17, 2010
As a cook of many years, and many turkeys I have finally found the recipe to keep. This is it! Never has a turkey been so moist, the buttermilk acts as the perfect tenderizer and the brine adds the flavor. The 4 quarts of buttermilk is an investiment but the result says it all. I will never change, my family and guests won't let me!
Review 20 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CTCat
Newtown, CT
November 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Recipe
November 15, 2010
I used this recipe to make my first turkey 2 years ago and it was fantastic. My family loved how moist, tender, and tasty the meat was. I will be using it again this year.
page1 2 next