Brownies

Chocolate is categorized by how much chocolate liquor it contains. Unsweetened, or bitter, chocolate is 100% chocolate liquor with no sugar added. Bittersweet and semisweet chocolates have cocoa butter and sugar added to the liquor but still contain at least 35% and 15% liquor, respectively. In most cases, these 2 chocolates are interchangeable in recipes. Milk chocolate, which contains at least 10% chocolate liquor and 12% milk solids, behaves differently in recipes and should not be used in place of other types of chocolate unless specified.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brownies
Review 1 for Brownies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noonch
California
July 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rave reviews...
July 23, 2011
Every time I make this recipe I get mad props.
Easy, and delicious. Helps if you have the gold pan though...cooks so evenly!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Brownies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
karend24
July 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
make ´em peanut butter!
July 21, 2011
sweet tip - just before popping these into the oven, melt down 1/2 cup of peanut butter and spread it around on the top of the brownies. makes them even more delicious! :)
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Brownies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OrangeSky
Salt Lake City UT
June 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist Chocolately Perfection
June 24, 2011
Firm yet moist with excellent texture. I found these delicious. A snap to make and they are certain to brings smiles to anyone who eats them!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Brownies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krdavis
Sicily, Naval Base
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than a box!
March 10, 2011
Made these brownies a couple times now and I will never buy a mix ever again. They are thick, fudgy, and delicious. Try them with different types of bakers chocolate for a slightly different chocolate flavor. Also, dont bake them as long as the recipe calls. Check them 10 min before with a toothpick, if it comes out clean youre good to go.
Review 5 for Brownies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sAmUrAi56
San Francisco, CA
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Brownie
February 16, 2011
I loved this brownie. Before I made it though, I made the Williams Sonoma recipe for Classic Caramel Sauce and poured it on top of each brownie. They were a HUGE hit! Everybody loved them.
Review 6 for Brownies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
agerfamily
Alexandria, VA
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Brownies & Easy
December 13, 2010
Just perfect not to sweet. I added blanched diced hazelnuts and replaced vanilla extract with 2t Godiva liqueur. I only give five stars if it sends me over the moon :-)
Review 7 for Brownies
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
calabriatg
Cary, NC
November 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dry and very chocolatey
November 7, 2010
This recipe calls for A LOT of chocolate - the brownies are not very sweet! Also, I followed the recipe exactly and the brownies came out dry and crumbly. Try these once before serving to guests to make sure they turn out the way you expect.
Review 8 for Brownies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
birchtree22
New York, New York
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Favorite
October 12, 2010
I made these brownies this past weekend, and my entire family loved them--even my kids (ages 8 and 10). I would highly recommend!
Review 9 for Brownies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chocolateluver
Colorado
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best brownies from scratch!
August 10, 2010
I have prepared many brownie recipes over the years. This recipe is by far the most delicious, easy and "natural" of them all. You can vary the type of chocolate you use depending on your taste, add nuts or not and the clean up is a breeze. Everyone from kids to adults loves these. Throw out all of your boxed brownie mixes!
Review 10 for Brownies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tmc01
NJ
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good brownies
August 10, 2010
This is the classic brownie recipe, with the right balance of sweetness to chocolate flavor. These are not overly sweet and cloying - the brownie is fudgie, rich and satisfying. The recipe is as easy as can be, to boot.
Keep in mind that taste for sweetness is a very personal thing ... if you love overly sweet desserts, these may not be for you. If you find the recipe bitter, i'd guess that you used an inferior, bitter chocolate.
Review 11 for Brownies
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mgirl
Alpine, New Jersey
July 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
0of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Got a SECOND
July 16, 2010
This was a poor choice in desserts. Keep looking. You will not like these brownies. They are thick and bitter. SAVE YOURSELVES!!!!!!!
Review 12 for Brownies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hischild12
China
May 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist & Fudgy- A Classic Brownie
May 16, 2010
I tried this recipe for a weekend treat, and I thought it was perfect. I used a combination of semi-sweet and white chocolate chips and then topped the brownies with cream cheese icing. My husband and I both thought these were just perfect- moist, fudgy, and rich.
Review 13 for Brownies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zcaitlin
Los Angeles, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not like a box
April 30, 2010
I grew up on the brownies straight from the box mix. These were completely different. They had more of a fudge texture and a profound vanilla extract undertone. I liked them but frankly I like the box mixes better since I like more of a warm chocolaty, gooey flavor.