Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus

Brining poultry and meats before roasting is an age-old technique that adds moisture and enhances taste. Despite the saltiness of the brine, the result is not an overly salty bird but rather increased juiciness and a fuller flavor. The optimum soaking time for a large roasting chicken is 4 hours, but even a shorter time in the brine will make a flavorful difference. Accompany the chicken with roasted mixed vegetables, such as potatoes, carrots and onions.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
Review 1 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davidjbj
,Apex
,NC
Apex, NC
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Juicy chicken
November 4, 2013
Simple and delicious. Chicken is very moist and tender.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Astero
Potomac, MD
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Sunday Family Dinner!
October 28, 2012
My family loved this meal.. It will be the Sunday Dinner for now on.
I did not brined the chicken this time and it was just as delicious.
Thank you William and Sonoma for all the
Delicious receipts.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redgbee
,Santa Ana
,CA
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
thanks for the brine technique
September 18, 2012
I was wondering what to do with my chicken until i went to WS site and found this. thank you for teaching me how to brine. LOL. It is so good, moist chicken, no need for additional seasoning. since I'm Asian, I had it with rice! Yum! Thank you Williams Sonoma!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chank
,Tampa
,Fl
February 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
February 12, 2012
I have made this several times and it is so yummy!
Review 5 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaronsMom
,Alexandria
,VA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Delicious!
January 12, 2012
Easy to make and a delicious outcome! Husband LOVED it, but alas, that means no leftovers. Will definitely make again, and if for guests, will cook 2 chickens. Moist and tender chicken, and the Au Jus was wonderful.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marmarp
San Jose
April 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very yummy
April 30, 2011
I would give it 5+ if I could. Moist, tasty and easy to make.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mnboater
Minnesota
March 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple but great!
March 22, 2011
I made this recipe using the rotisserie function on my oven. Wow! Moist and delicious. The sauce was tasty and very low-carb friendly.
Review 8 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GourmetMama
Fergus Falls, MN
January 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chicken I've Ever Had
January 30, 2011
This was honestly the best chicken we've ever had, my three and four year old were begging for more after it was all long gone. The wine jus is just the perfect touch and the baking times are completely accurate. It is a little bit labor intensive but totally worth it. I think I'll do two chickens next time so we can have left overs!
Review 9 for Brined Roast Chicken with Wine Jus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kburt
Portland, OR
May 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious! So juicy and tender!
May 29, 2010
I've made this recipe several times and it comes out amazing every single time. The temperatures and cooking times are spot on. The only thing I would recommend is to have either 2 oven mitts ready (the mitts WILL get a bit messy), or 2 carving forks so that you can turn the bird a couple of times.
Despite the warnings from my family, I've used a glass Pyrex roasting dish each time I've made this recipe, and it works perfectly well on the stove top (I've used it on 2 gas stove tops).
Enjoy! :)