Breakfast Tart

Inspired by the hearty cuisine of Europe's alpine regions, our savory breakfast tart features nutty Gruyere cheese and smoky bacon. This combination is sure to satify appetites invigorated by cold winter weather.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breakfast Tart
Review 1 for Breakfast Tart
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Teacher03
,Flat Rock
,MI
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't be a scaredy cat!
November 28, 2013
I just made this for a Thanksgiving brunch and I had put the eggs on...it all looked great but after 10 minutes the eggs looked raw...so I left it in the oven...too long and the eggs ended up overcooked with hard yolks...otherwise it was very tasty and relatively easy (I made the cheese mixture and bacon the night before). I would recommend this for impressing overnight guests or adding something special to a brunch.
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tashi
,Washington
,DC
DC
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent; plan to try a modification
May 2, 2012
We also enjoyed this but did laugh at the thought of "4 servings" for a recipe with three eggs... For ease of serving, we plan to try it next time with the pastry cut into four equal portions providing a separate space for each egg (and we will use 4 eggs). Great flavor, definitely doesn't need any salt added with the bacon and gruyere.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,West Bloomfield
,MI
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Yet Impressive Looking
March 11, 2012
~visually beautiful presentation without a lot of effort. I rolled the pastry out on a piece of parchment and transferred both to the baking sheet...substituted sour cream for creme fraiche and green onion for chives since mine aren't up yet...added an additional egg to make it an equitable breakfast for two. Would definitely make again.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHartman
Asheville, NC
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic for a Special Day
June 19, 2011
Just made this for Father's Day breakfast. Used homemade crème fraîche, which hadn't set completely and caused a big mess on the pan. Once my husband folded over the sides of the pastry to keep everything in, though, the result was so, so good!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJC2472
April 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and delicious
April 1, 2011
This tart is an excellent addition to any brunch! I made it for my husband's birthday breakfast, and he commented that it looked like a piece of art... right before he ate all of it except my piece. It's fairly easy to assemble with a little bit of prep, so it can be made while you have guests or shortly before they arrive.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DivaDahling
Vancouver, WA
March 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So tasty!!
March 5, 2011
I have made this twice already. It is SO delicious! I added an extra egg and sprinkled some chopped, fresh rosemary on top of the cheese mixture before baking.
I had never used creme fraiche before and learned that the Crema Mexicana is a good substitute as well.
Review 7 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
New Jersey
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks like something from the South of France
December 27, 2010
OMG, this was so good and looked gorgeous on my breakfast table for guests. I added extra eggs as others suggested. Used sour cream second time instead of creme fraiche and there was no detectable difference.
Review 8 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicagoMom21
Chicago
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Will make again and again...
December 11, 2010
Easy to make, visually appealing, absolutely wonderful flavor! Recipe is so versatile too! We added more eggs. Everyone loved this!!
Review 9 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marythecanuck
Tulsa, Oklahoma
September 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This turns out perfect every time!
September 10, 2010
This is a simple and delicious breakfast for Sunday mornings. I have made this several times and each time, it's a hit! I actually put more eggs and more bacon than what is listed in the recipe. Glad I found this recipe, it's a keeper!
Review 10 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
delilah69
Arvada, Co.
August 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FABULOUS!!!
August 27, 2010
Ive made this recipe several times. I made it a little different each time, different meats or cheeses, and more eggs. It was a HUGE hit! even my picky kids liked it! Its a HUGE Sunday breakfast favorite! I LOVE making it and watching my family enjoy it!
Review 11 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loveallfood
Seattle, WA
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could you make anything better?`
August 18, 2010
This is an amazing breakfast tart. I have made this and have also touched it up with my own meats and different cheeses. You will have to cook it a bit longer than what the recipe states adn also it is good to put the broiler on it for just a bit too! Sometimes I put foil around the edges so they don't burn. I make this everytime I have guests over. It is a true win!
Review 12 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SBCUPCAKE
Santa Barbara, CA
August 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Sunday Breakfast or Brunch
August 14, 2010
I first saw this recipe in their catalog. I like looking for the recipes. It looked so good, so I had to try it. Thanks goodness I did. This is a fabulous dish and taste like something you would eat while visiting the countryside in France or somewhere in Europe. My daughter, who is now in college, is making it for her friends and roommates. Thanks!!! It goes down well.
Review 13 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mljfws
Columbus, Ohio
June 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a Group
June 14, 2010
Prepared this for a group of friends on a weekend lake vacation. It look beautiful; tasted wonderful and everyone one loved it. All asked for the recipe - the real proof it was a hit.
Review 14 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristyski
Tigard, OR
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum - three times
May 26, 2010
My mom made this for us once and I have since made it 3 times. we love it. I think it's the cheese that makes it delicious. Highly recommend it.
Review 15 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
newrecipelover
Grand Prairie, Texas
May 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent guest breakfast
May 21, 2010
This is an excellent guest show stopper. It is easy to prepare so you have time with your guests and delicious. We have made it several times and everyone has loved it
Review 16 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TessP
Akron, OH
May 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Sunday Brunch
May 18, 2010
This tart is easy to make. The flavors of the salty bacon, Gruyère cheese, and chive blend well.
Review 17 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
debsob
Rockingham Vt
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Guests Impressed
May 15, 2010
This has always been a huge hit and always impresses our guests. I have used chopped ham or canadian bacon as a substitute for the bacon and for the chives, used red onion or shallots. Quick to prepare if you pre-cook the bacon, grate the cheese, and thaw the puff pastry in the refrig. the night before. I use four eggs, placing one in each corner. Give it a try.
Review 18 for Breakfast Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tlynn81
St. Louis, MO
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty recipe to impress!
April 30, 2010
I make this recipe often to please and dazzle house guests. It looks and takes so gourmet! I have also made this with with Williams-Sonoma long tart pan and individual tart pans. I love the individual rounds because then you can make sure everyone gets an egg and piece of bacon. I am so glad I found this recipe. Try it - you'll love it!