Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries

Baked and served in the same skillet, this hearty egg dish is just right for a casual weekend brunch. Crispy home fries are the perfect accompaniment. Be sure to use fresh Mexican chorizo, rather than precooked Spanish chorizo, in this recipe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
Review 1 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
,CO
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple, Easy, and Fast
August 23, 2013
We make this more often for dinner than breakfast. The ingredients are inexpensive, prep is minimal, and cook time is pretty fast. After the first couple times making this dish, we decided we preferred the potatoes in a hash-style cut and we mix the potatoes with the greens before adding the eggs (if you do this, make sure to drain the excess liquid from your veggies or else your potatoes will become soggy). Sometimes we just scramble the eggs right into the mix. Whether you make the recipe exactly as is or alter the preparation, the flavor combination is wonderful. Try using kale or spinach if chard is unavailable.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DeborahW
,Seattle
,WA
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice change from traditional breakfast
December 16, 2012
My family liked this meal. This dish had nice favor and appearance. The chorizo mixture was a little dry but I over cooked it. Be sure to reduce the time for the last step if you do to want fully cooked yolks.
Pros: Appearance, complimentary flavors
Review 3 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SNowalk
,Virginia Beach
,VA
October 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing for Brunch
October 29, 2012
This is a staple for my family during the holidays as a go-to brunch item. Easily customizable for availability of specific items and satisfies even the pickiest of eaters. BUT, try to stick to the recipe as close as possible because it truly is delicious...
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChinChin
,Scottsdale
,AZ
April 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Perfect for breakfast
April 26, 2012
I have made this dish several times and it is always a big hit. Everyone wants this recipe.
I use spinach instead of chard, but I wouldn't change anything else, it comes out just perfectly.
I will be making it again for guests this weekend. I know they will love it too.
Thanks
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JooLori
,WA
January 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous for Breakfast, Brunch or Dinner!
January 27, 2012
This recipe hits the mark on many levels. I made it for a large family gathering at the holidays with the Green Onion Home Fries as suggested and everyone devoured it. Also, I used kale the instead of chard because that's what I had the first time. I made it again for just my small family which includes a four year old and added mushrooms. The addition was also a hit. The nutrients in this healthy start to the day or the end of a day are superb. Make it! You will love it and your family will love you for making it.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, used poached agg's
Review 6 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Cosmo1
,Cincinnati
,OH
United States
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My family's favorite breakfast dish
January 10, 2012
I prepared this for my family (8) on xmas morning, and they fell in love. I did most of the prep the day before, so things went quick on xmas. I used spinach instead of the chard
I think I will cook this at least once a month.
Don't forget that the handles are hot and remain so for quite some time. I know because I forgot.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kelleygirly
,Portland
,ME
Maine
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Meal
December 29, 2011
My sous chef son and I made this on Christmas morning and it was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. As someone else said it's not complicated but helps to have everything ready. The potatoes were amazing, too. We'll definitely be making this again and again.
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kelcatmom
,Albany
,CA
December 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Family Winter Breakfast
December 22, 2011
I just made this for my extended family while we're together for the holidays. All of the adults loved it and I will absolutely make it again. My father's just described it as updated corned beef hash, which is meant in a very positive manner. That's his favorite breakfast (which I just learned today, and I'm grown with kids of my own). So thanks for the new insight into my father & thanks for an awesome addition to our family get togethers. There are several steps, but it's not complicated or difficult, and if you set up all the ingredients beforehand, it's easy to put together while you're having a cup of coffee and chatting.
I used my mom's trusty cast-iron skillet instead of a non-stick skillet and it all worked beautifully. Clean-up was easy.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 9 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginw123
,Argyle
,TX
December 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone Loved It!!!
December 19, 2011
This looked great in the catalog and so tried it immediately. I couldn't locate fresh Swiss chard so substituted fresh spinach. The colors were great for the Holiday. The flavors were big and wonderful. Great way to cook eggs although I baked them for 6 minutes (max. time in recipe) and most still had runny whites. I put a cover on the pan and let it sit (out of the oven) for about 2-3 minutes to let the residual heat continue to cook the eggs and they were perfect. Everyone said it looked just like the photo in the catalog. Will definitely make this again.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gry2yng
,Gurnee
,IL
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a great dinner
December 18, 2011
I have been holding this recipe for a few weeks. My Darling Husband made it for dinner and we were both overwhelmed. Fantastic. It will be part of the rotation. it is spicy, so keep that in mind.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 11 for Breakfast Skillet with Green Onion Home Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheoR3304
,San antonio
,TX
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Family Holiday Breakfast
December 10, 2011
Got the magazine this week and made it this weekend, huge hit! Normally we have chorizo and eggs as a family, this recipient takes it to a whole new level. The skillet with the eggs are the best, the Potatoes are nothing special. My favorite part is the sweet bell peper with the salty chorizo. Pull the pan out of the oven quick for runny yokes or let it sit for firm yokes. Since its red and green it's a great holiday meal.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Lengthy