Bread Pudding

A simple bread pudding is the perfect use for a day-old baguette or coarse country loaf. These breads have a similar texture and both have a rather bland flavor when stale, the perfect foil for a flavorful custard. Cut the bread into 3/4-inch slices, then cut again into 3/4-inch cubes. These bite-size pieces are perfect for soaking up all the custard yet still hold together well enough to give the dessert some texture.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bread Pudding
Review 1 for Bread Pudding
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
craftdiva
,Danvers
,MA
March 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Base~mix it up
March 1, 2012
Had a hunkering for bread pudding and googled. This was a perfect base and easy to add what you like.
~ I used fresh subrolls, cubed & left out over night to stale.
~baked in 9X13, so increased eggs to 6, kept milk to 4 cups
~soaked 1 cup raisins in rum
~used the rest of the rum in milk, egg mixture :0)
I can imagine with peaches and brandy, banana bread with rum and maybe chocolate chips....yummy!
I'm eating HOT out of oven right now & its really good! If it wasn't 10am i'd have vanilla bean ice cream with it. Can't wait to try it cold.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Bread Pudding
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
martawillcox
,St. Louis
,MO
September 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really tasty and easy
September 14, 2011
The recipe was very easy and quick and used all normal pantry ingredients.
The powdered sugar really does add the extra something special.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Denise2012
Las Vegas, NV
January 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Bread Pudding Recipe!
January 21, 2011
This is an easy recipe for bread pudding. I've also added pumpkin spice (dry). It contains nutmeg, allspice, and cinnamon. It adds another layer of flavor. Also, I use 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 milk, for a richer pudding.
Review 4 for Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melhivyleague
Oregon
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An Easy & Delicious Crowd Pleaser
September 13, 2010
I threw this together last minute and was surprised how easy it was! I didn't have time to let the bread soak, but it didn't seem to make much difference. I also added two extra egg yolks for a littler richer custard. Topped and baked with fresh blackberries instead of cranberries for the perfect summer dessert.
Review 5 for Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodie77
Calgary, AB
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort food
June 8, 2010
I always add more cinnamon and sometimes I add apple chunks as well, depends on the mood. This is a lighter dessert than I had expected, especially when I use brioche or challah.
Review 6 for Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gtho
New York, NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish
April 30, 2010
I have made this bread pudding several times. It is delicious! I usually use dried cranberries. I didn't have "day old bread", so I just bought a crusty baguette and used that instead. Make sure you bake it in something deep enough, to hold all the extra liquid for the bread to absorb.