Braised Tarragon Chicken

This one-pot meal combines slow-cooked chicken with leeks, carrots and fresh herbs. Creamy mashed potatoes are the perfect accompaniment.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Tarragon Chicken
Review 1 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aimlessoz
,Austin
,TX
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Favorite
January 7, 2014
One of my favorite dishes to prepare for family and friends. It is great served over mashed potatoes or a cauliflower mash. The sauce makes this dish. It is packed with flavor and never disappoints. I have made this dish many times and tweak it slightly each time by adding different vegetables or even leaving out the heavy cream. It always turns out delicious.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anabirgite
,Granger
,IN
March 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Slow Cooker Recipe
March 12, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I had to make with chicken thighs and used Red Mills Gluten free All-purpose flour. Will need to double recipe next time. My husband finished the dish before my son was home from soccer.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable
Review 3 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmom2
Los Angeles
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Guests or a Weeknight Meal
January 16, 2011
The base of this recipe is very flavorful and relatively easy. I chose it b/c I love leeks with chicken. The only adaptation I made was using boneless, skinless chicken breasts and thighs. I served it with both mashed potatoes and pasta. My husband voted for mashed potatoes and myself pasta- no surprise here in our house:) Changes I will make next time is omitting the carrots (they made the recipe too sweet for our liking) and instead use a green veggie like celery or serve asparagus on the side . The dark meat was fabulous and really soaked up the flavor, much more than the breast meat. Next time I will use only thighs. Also, b/c we entertain alot, this is an easy meal to double and can cook while doing other preparations. Thanks for the great recipe WS!
Review 4 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LCG1
Round Rock, Texas
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Flavor
January 9, 2011
Simple and extremely tasty. I used boneless breasts with the skin on. Put everything over wild mushroom fettucini.
Review 5 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohnoyes
Alexandria, VA
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Crowd Pleaser Every Time
December 24, 2010
I have made this dish several times and everyone always loves it, even picky eaters! It's a nice hearty dish, packed full of flavor -- great for a cool weather day. Like others, I also skipped the cooker and just cooked mine stovetop in a covered pan. Turned out wonderful! And it smells so lovely cooking. I like to serve this with warm homemade rolls. Mmmmmmm!
Review 6 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeCT
Lyme, CT
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Definite Keeper
December 2, 2010
This is so easy and SO delicious. I do skip the cream and add a little bit of mustard. Just as yummy and nicer to my hips!!
Review 7 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
httpmom
San Francisco Bay Area
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French Comfort Food
November 23, 2010
My good friend learned to cook using Williams Sonoma books…last night was the second time I have eaten this wonderful chicken recipe at her house. Tarragon and chicken usually a haute cuisine combination… but somehow this recipe seems an ultimate homey meal.
Review 8 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tocsog
Fort Lauderdale, FL
July 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
July 4, 2010
Prepared it ina pan on the stove, and then transferred to my ceramic All Clad slow cooker. Added shitake mushrooms, and it was a winner!
Review 9 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeansat
San Antonio, TX
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another lovely way to serve chicken
May 15, 2010
I am always looking for a new chicken recipe and found this on the WS website. Although it was meant to be cooked in a slow cooker, I cooked it slowly in my Le Creuset dutch oven. It was very easy to do and was very tasty. My husband and I both agreed that we would cook this recipe again in the future.
Review 10 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grandmax5
Sonoma, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent slow cooker recipe
May 14, 2010
This recipe is heavenly. I used just the thighs instead of a whole chicken. Will make this quite often.
Review 11 for Braised Tarragon Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HminParker
Parker, CO
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent & easy
May 14, 2010
Made this the other night on the stove - crock pot is in storage. It was fast and easy and delicious. The neighbors loved it and both they and my husband said it was one of their favorite meals of all time!