Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy

Other leafy greens, such as Swiss chard, kale or spinach, may be used in place of the bok choy. Chop the leaves coarsely and cook just until tender. The spinach only needs several seconds to cook.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy
Review 1 for Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PotsPansandSpatulas
,San Antonio
,Tx
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Show off your skills kinda meal
September 21, 2013
This dish was full of flavor, simple ingredients yet bold in flavor. I first sautéed the chicken thighs in sesame oil, I wanted them to be browned before I dropped them into the cooking liquid. I let the whole thing slow simmer stove top for about 1 1/2 hours chicken was to die for! I served with side of bok choy, snow peas and jasmine rice. - I thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. Also added a little garlic chili paste for some heat. Thank you WS!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stjinnova
fairfax, va
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not picture-perfect, but super tasty.
January 20, 2011
The bok choy in the supermarket looked puny, so I didn't use it. I made a stir-fry of carrots, broccoli, and green beans (since that's what I had in the crisper drawer) instead, and that was delicious.
Now, when my dish was done, it did not look a thing like the picture attached to the recipe! The chicken looked a little flabby and uninspired. But I finished the dish and threw it over the veggies and rice anyway.
The sauce has a lovely complex flavor. The chicken was rich and tender despite looking a little beige.
We thought this was a total "keeper" of a recipe - will definitely make it again. Delicious. And it is really very easy. A good weeknight meal to be sure.
Review 3 for Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
frannyb
charleston, sc
January 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't waste your time with this recipe!
January 15, 2011
It was a salty mess! my least favorite recipe from the WS Asian cookbook
Review 4 for Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lovethelake
Cleveland OH
July 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too much salt
July 13, 2010
One cup of soy sauce is way too much. I used 1/2 cup of a low-sodium soy sauce and even that was a bit too much. Otherwise a good, simple recipe, good for a week-night with stir fried rice,
Review 5 for Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookinItUp
Charlotte, NC
May 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delish Dish
May 25, 2010
This recipe was very simple to follow, easy ingredients and the spinach alternative was very good. Can see preparing this for family or entertainment!
Review 6 for Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken & Bok Choy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajoyce
New York, NY
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and terrific!
May 15, 2010
Such an easy dish that gives a lot of great flavor. This will be a staple in our house.