Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta

These flavorful short ribs perfectly illustrate how braised meat cooked on the bone can turn out succulent and tender enough to cut with a fork. The bones also enrich the braising liquid, which marries delectably with the cheese-laced creamy polenta. A bold-flavored Syrah or Zinfandel is ideal for the pot and the table.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
Review 1 for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaxAndOlive
,Tampa
,Fl
July 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Wine Dinner Entree!
July 7, 2014
Made these for a wine dinner and they were delicious! I used my Staub Cast Iron Coq Au Vin Pot. The short ribs were excellent! We didn't follow the directions for the polenta because we didn't have quick cooking polenta so we opted to make regular creamy polenta. These were to die for! Don't skimp on browning the ribs on all sides. Reducing the sauce is a must. Served with olive oil and rosemary roasted whole carrots. Don't forget some nice crusty bread. Love!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmmcheese
,Boston
,MA
NY, NY
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Short Ribs!
January 15, 2014
This is definitely one of the best short rib recipes I've tried, and I've tried a bunch! So flavorful- I made it for a dinner party of 8 and every plate was practically licked clean. I didn't make the instant polenta that they recommend though- I used Emeril's Parmesan Polenta recipe- it was really easy and absolutely delicious with this recipe. Everyone was raving about dinner for days! I highly recommend this!
Review 3 for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SummerFoodie
South Amboy, New Jersey
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Restaurant Quality at Home
November 23, 2013
I agree with the other reviews- this recipe is a "keeper". We have many, many dinners in our family rotation and this one is requested often. Equally delicious served over mashed potatoes, couscous, ect. Fabulous!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndrewKorn
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Homemade Meal Of All Time
October 8, 2013
This was the most incredible meal we have ever made at home. It takes a little while, be sure to have everything prepped before hand. Well worth the wait! We added green beans on the side in addition to soak up the sauce, and just used a food processor with precooked polenta and milk/butter. Definitely recommend this to everyone!
Pros: Impressive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MimiM
,Bronx
,N.
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Meal
March 12, 2012
I made this meal for my husband, parents and Aunt. They all loved it. The short ribs were so tender and only needed a fork to cut. I plan on making this again!
Review 6 for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mgioc
New York, NY
March 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite winter recipe!
March 3, 2012
It's simply divine. I wasn't paying attn and used an entire bottle of wine instead of the 2 cups the recipe recommends. I didn't have too much liquid and the sauce was out of this world. i can't wait to make the ragu with the leftovers!
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 7 for Braised Short Ribs with Creamy Polenta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vic77
,NY
February 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the Best
February 10, 2012
Simply put: one of the best dishes I've ever had...and I am quite a foodie! Simple perfection.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again