Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary

From the lower section of the leg, lamb shanks are a full-flavored but tough cut of meat. They respond well to slow, gentle braising in aromatic liquid, emerging moist and fork-tender. The shanks are first browned in olive oil to give them color and enhance the taste.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
Review 1 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorrier357
,amherst
,ny
March 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great company meal, can be gluten free
March 21, 2013
I have made this recipe many times for company with veal shanks or pork shanks. It is easy and can be made ahead. I also make it gluten free for my celiac friends by making sure i use gluten free beef broth. I buy veal shanks when reduced and freeze until i have enough. Always a hit.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 2 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CYBERCOOK123
,Cleveland
,OH
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WILL BECOME A COLD WEATHER "GO TO" RECIPE
November 14, 2011
Cooked these long and slow in the crock pot. In fact, I started the crockpot and went to the grocery store. I made a double recipe so we would have another meal. Served with mashed potatoes and the pan gravey.
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 3 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kattb
November 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful and easy to make
November 9, 2011
Basic ingredients combine to make a wonderful and hearty dish. The meat was tender and flavorful and the sauce aromatic and rich. I served this dish with a creamy polenta and roasted asparagus. Will make this again.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LizLaurel
,Laurel
,MD
Laurel, MD
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty, and easy enough for a weeknight meal!
September 8, 2011
This is a very easy recipe using staples from your kitchen - no special purchases beyond the shanks themselves! My only recommendation is to double the sauce - I found it cooked down so much I did not need to use the immersion blender but that also meant the sauce was a little too thick. But the meat is indeed tender at the end, and makes a nice meal with the mashed potatoes as shown in the picture.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maincook
Novato, CA
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous!!!!!!!
February 23, 2011
This was amazing! Easy, delicious, restaurant quality dinner. House smelled fabulous while cooking.
Review 6 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJenny
Novi, MI
October 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Elegance
October 13, 2010
This was a very easy recipe to make, required little prep, and tasted really flavorful. I made it in my Dutch oven. I served over herbed egg noodles, since we were out of potatoes. I think this would have been especially good over mashed potatoes.
Review 7 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzyKitchen
Fulshear, Tx
July 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dinner anytime !
July 16, 2010
We love lamb, but this was our first try at Lamb Shanks. They are very large and one can be shared. We served garlic mash potatoes and mint jelly with it. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe. We can always count on Williams-Sonoma for a great meal.
Review 8 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heidelind
Virgina
May 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a special occasion
May 28, 2010
A wonderful, wonderful dish. I'd never had lamb shanks before, but now I can't wait to have this again. I wish I had made polenta with it, it would have been perfect. Key is to make sure that you cook it long enough otherwise you will have a tough untasty piece of meet.
Review 9 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TDog
Chico, ca
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy elegance
May 14, 2010
A restaurant-caliber dish you can make yourself. I tend to go easy on the rosemary since it's a powerful herb. Re-heated is just as fabulous.