Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary

From the lower section of the leg, lamb shanks are a full-flavored but tough cut of meat. They respond well to slow, gentle braising in aromatic liquid, emerging moist and fork-tender. The shanks are first browned in olive oil to give them color and enhance the taste.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
Review 1 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PRiddle
June 13, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not enough liquid
June 13, 2015
Thank goodness I checked this in 45 minutes because it was completely dry, i added a cup of water and an hour later it was dry again?
After 2 1/2 hours it still hasn't fallen off the bone so it's still cooking?
Cons: didn't fall off the bone in 2 and a half hours of
Review 2 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WhirleyCook
,CA
April 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
April 4, 2015
I have made this recipe twice and will be making it again for dinner tomorrow. It is really delicious. The house smells great when these are cooking. Perfect cool weather main dish. I serve these with mashed potatoes, green beans and home made buttermilk biscuits. My husband loves this dinner.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Braised Lamb Shanks with Rosemary
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorrier357
,amherst
,ny
March 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great company meal, can be gluten free
March 21, 2013
I have made this recipe many times for company with veal shanks or pork shanks. It is easy and can be made ahead. I also make it gluten free for my celiac friends by making sure i use gluten free beef broth. I buy veal shanks when reduced and freeze until i have enough. Always a hit.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Lorrier357
Amherst NY
Posted April 3, 2015
It would make an excellent Easter meal. You can just double ingredients to make more. I do cook ahead and reheat next day. You can even remove fat after it sets for a day.
0points
Customer avatar
LadyLuck206
Seattle
Posted April 3, 2015
tips for a crowd?
Hi Lorrier,
thinking about making this for Easter dinner; your profile says you cook for 6-10 typically, any tips for expanding the recipy portions? Also, you mention you've made this ahead before - do you fully cook everything and then reheat the next night, or?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)