Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale

Kale adds bright color to these tender cannellini beans, which make a wonderful side dish for our Chicken Breasts with Glazed Root Vegetables (see related recipe at left). If desired, cook the beans in vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and serve as a hearty vegetarian entree.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale
Review 1 for Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoLuna
,Falls Church
,Va
Washington, DC
November 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 8, 2013
This makes a great main dish or side dish. I used a vegetable stock and the flavor is amazing. It's easy to make, too. The taste of the kale is mild and it is an interesting way to get more greens in the diet.
Pros: Easy, Healthy
Review 2 for Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quick and easy
October 13, 2013
This is my go-to menu for weeknight dinner. I have used canned beans when I didn't have time to soak dry beans. Chickpeas work very well in this recipe as well. I add 1/2 teaspoon of dried chili flakes at the end and it works very nicely - if you don't mind the heat :)
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LinMag
,Allen
,TX
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & Quick
March 20, 2012
So, I didn't use fennel 'cause it's not my favorite. Also, I chopped up 2 slices of bacon and sauteed that with the onion. Then I followed the recipe exactly as it is here...and it was DELICIOUS! May need to add an extra cup of chicken stock next time though.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mickmca
,Levittown
,Pa
January 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Healthful
January 19, 2012
Will def be preparing this again. Made a Vegan version replacing the chicken stock with vegetable stock . It was a hugh hit with vegan daugher. Is rather mild and no after effects observed. NO Cons.
Pros: Quick, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProspectSuzy
,Longmont
,CO
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best White Beans Ever
January 12, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, but cooked a little longer with additional water due to the altitude in Colorado. What a great dish, even better the next day served warm over arugula for a crazy good & healthy salad. With so many great recipes out there, I usually make a recipe once and move on, this one is a keeper, I'll repeat often!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, switch to veg broth for vegetarians
Review 6 for Braised Cannellini Beans with Kale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EowynG
,Dublin
,CA
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dish for cold nights
January 8, 2012
This dish as easy to make, super flavorful and really healthy. My family usually doesn't eat kale, but in this dish they were asking for it again. It was a huge hit!
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again