Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables

The addition of a light vinaigrette laced with green onions and peppery mint just before serving infuses this dish with bright, fresh flavors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
Review 1 for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davidjbj
,Apex
,NC
Apex, NC
October 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious meal
October 28, 2013
Very easy to make and house smelled wonderful while cooking. My husband loved it.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4tybee
,Savannah
,ga
April 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous winter meal
April 12, 2013
Wonderful combination of spices and veggies. Made several times for arriving overnight guests. Served with wide egg noodles. Perfect.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Review 3 for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seyshellies
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fall Meal
October 22, 2012
I read the other reviews and made some alterations. When I make this again, I'll cut the meat in bigger pieces and cook longer. I will also remove the cinnamon stick sooner. It was a bit overpowering. I had a few issues with the multicooker, I think that was my fault tho. It turned off and I couldn't reset it a couple of times. I started it the day before, then let it come to room temp, then finished it. I used butternut squash, pumpkin was too much of a hassle. Also, I doubled the recipe. Tasty dinner, my guests loved it. I served it with an arugula salad and warm french bread. Pumpkin brulee tarts for dessert!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slowcookingmama
,West Springfield
,MA
October 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for football season!
October 15, 2012
It smelled so fantastic that it didn't even make the table! Delicious. I made it twice this week and both times we finished the entire batch. Now thats rare for the three of us!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Miami
,Fl
October 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Slow-Cooker Stew
October 15, 2012
My husband & I really enjoyed this tasty stew tonight. I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin and it really soaked up the flavors nicely. I prepared it the night before and let it cook on low all day in my crock pot. I left the butternut squash on top like the recipe called for, which was good because it didn't get mushy. My husband said I could bottle the sauce like other WS starters. That was a great compliment! I'll definitely make this again.
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
,CA
Monarch Beach, CA
October 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't have to use pumpkin; substitute potatoes
October 3, 2012
I have very picky adult male eaters in my household so I skipped the pumpkin and substituted with two potatoes. I considered adding parsnips instead of the potatoes which I will do the next time. My slow cooker crock insert broke last week so I put the stew in the oven on 250 degrees Fahrenheit for about 2.5 hours. The vinegar and green onion topping added a delicious tangy taste. It was an easy one-pot meal with relatively little clean up after the meal. The picky male eaters in my house requested that I make this recipe again!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Braised Beef with Autumn Vegetables
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsBofAZ
,Chandler
,AZ
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Interesting
September 23, 2012
Interesting flavors. My suggestion would be to cook the beef for 2 1/2 hrs instead of 2 hours before adding the squash (I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin). The squash was perfect but the meat could have been a bit more tender....so I think the meat needed to be cooked longer. Also, this can be quite an expensive dish to make. The Williams Sonoma Beef Stock Concentrate alone is 19.95 then the beef $17.00, the fresh herbs, $6.00, the bay leaf $8.00, the squash $3.00, cinnamon sticks $12.00, a bottle of wine $$, etc. Now you will have some of these left over to use in other dishes but to start it makes for an expensive dish.
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: Cost