Bolognese Sauce

Our version of this classic Italian sauce, made with ground beef, pork and pancetta, is easy to prepare in a slow cooker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bolognese Sauce
Review 1 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyHappyCook
,Kirkland
,Wa
March 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This Recipe
March 22, 2014
We've made this maybe a dozen times BUT never in the slow cooker. Usually cook in the Le Creuset or a HUGE deep skillet and alter the prep accordingly, and cook for about an hour on the stove. I've read/made many, many Bolognese recipes over the years, but this has become my go-to fave for the proportions, ease, and depth of flavor. I also cheat and use San Marzano crushed tomatoes
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, yummy!
Review 2 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dawnkayla
,WPB
,FL
November 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Sunday Dinner
November 2, 2012
This is my 3rd time making this bolognese. I have tweaked a couple things, but my family LOVES it!!! I do not generally freeze anything because fresh is Always better, but this freezes very well :)
Pros: Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmarchese
Paramus, NJ
July 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for homey family meal
July 31, 2011
This dish got rave reviews from the family, made the weekend before leaving for a family vacation let thaw on drive, served with pasta and crusty bread, family loved it, keeping this recipe. I even added ground veal, can't go wrong with this one.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smartkid
Goodyear, AZ
October 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Fabulous
October 25, 2010
I prepared this recipe for my family and received rave reviews and wondered what would I do with the remainder. Tonight I made lasagna with the leftovers (after freezing for 3 weeks) and was told that it was the best ever! Only thing I added was some grated zucchini and carrots ( for my non-vegetable lovers). Thanks again for another great recipe!
Review 5 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovetoslowcookMaui
Maui, HI
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best bolognese I've ever had
August 5, 2010
Highly recommend this fabulous, rich sauce. Tastes even better the next day!
Review 6 for Bolognese Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nilpi
Beverly Hills, CA
May 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a healthy family
May 27, 2010
The ingredients in this recipe are superb, however it does not bind into a thick enough sauce in the slowcooker. The tomato paste needs to be doubled to render a sauce that does not separate. Once this is done, it is a delicious sauce and true to its Italian heritage.
Review 7 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thehuntress
Montgomery, AL
May 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, Hearty, Rustic Sauce!
May 18, 2010
I LOVE this recipe!! I did substitute ground venison for the beef since I had plenty on hand. This is a very hearty sauce with may uses. It freezes well so I keep a couple of meals worth ready to go. If for no other reason, it is worth making just to smell it while it is cooking!
Review 8 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoriVermont
Vermont
May 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
May 18, 2010
I have been trying to find a recipe for Bolognese Sauce ever since I visited Italy where their Meat Sauce is incredible. All the recipes were disasters until this one. My family loved it and it is easy to make.
Review 9 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pinkster
American Canyon, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a large meal, plenty for later
May 14, 2010
I've made this several times, even with different types of meat. It comes out great every time and there's plenty left over. It freezes well, so we never ever eat sauce from a jar anymore. We just thaw out the leftovers and it tastes almost as good as freshly cooked. This is one of our family's favorite, even the picky kids love it.
Review 10 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynnInWisc
Milwaukee WI
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the effort
May 14, 2010
This sauce is great fresh and just as good after freezing. Very meaty; great flavor.
Review 11 for Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gwynne
Grand Rapids, MN
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd Pleaser
April 30, 2010
This recipe makes a lot! Plenty for a large platter and enough to freeze for later. A huge hit!