Blueberry Pie

Making a pie is the perfect way to celebrate the brief blueberry season in summer. If fresh blueberries are unavailable, however, use frozen blueberries (without thawing them first) and increase the baking time by 10 to 15 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Blueberry Pie
Review 1 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cmarie1375
,Chicago
,Il
August 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply amazing, amazingly simple!
August 5, 2014
I made my own, flaky crust for this amazing pie, thanks to my dad's family recipe. However, I increased the blueberries to fill the pie to the top, used flour instead of cornstarch (works the same if you don't have), added a little more lemon, and definitely less sugar. I don't like desserts too sweet. 1/2 cup was perfect. Used an egg wash on crust just before putting into oven at 400 for the first 15-20 min, then decreased to about 300- 325. It's just fabulous!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cmviolin
,Minneapolis
,MN
August 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bright flavors and no-fuss crust recipe
August 4, 2014
I was surprised how easily the crust recipe came together. I used my stand mixer, and chilled my bowl beforehand. It was so easy to work with and really held its shape when baked. Definitely follow the instructions on lining a baking pan with foil, as the pie will overflow a bit when baking. Mine did right at the end, and that's how I knew it was done. I used frozen blueberries and it worked like a charm.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ihlish
,Deweyville
,UT
July 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Blueberry Pie
July 30, 2014
I love this recipe I altered in a little bit. I used frozen blueberries and I increased it to 5 cups to fill my pie pan. I also increase the sugar 3 tablespoons. The lemon juice ti 2 tablespoons. Cinnamon to 1/3 tsp. And cornstarch to 5 Tlbs. I also put foil around the edges and did an egg wash. I cook at 375 degrees for 80 minutes. Taking the foil off the last 15 minutes. Now perfect pie.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hugecorporation
,St Louis
,MO
July 7, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Pie
July 7, 2014
Wow, this was great. I handmade the pie crust and it was delicious! I also used sugar in the raw, because it was the only non-powdered sugar I had. This recipe really showcases the fresh, in-season fruit. The only thing I will change next time is adding more lemon zest and juice. It is the best fruit pie I've made! I definitely recommend this recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
gerona48
Boston, MA
Posted August 3, 2014
Question
You said that this recipe was "unhealthy" and I'm not sure why you said that. It doesn't have an inordinate amount of sugar or fat and, if one eats appropriately (and not the whole pie by oneself at one sitting), I'm genuinely befuddled as to why you said that it was unhealthy. Would you share your reasoning, please?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GraceAnn
,Sweden
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Blueberry PIe Recipe Ever!
September 16, 2012
This recipe is fail safe and wonderful and I always get numerous compliments on it every time I make it. I usually make it without the cinnamon just because I don't want anything to distract from the wonderful blueberry flavor with a hint of lemon. It is great every time I make it! I even use this recipe with blackberries and we even used this recipe to make mini pies for the groom's "cake" at our wedding. They were eaten up so quickly we never even got one!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shanzi
,Atlanta
,GA
July 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best pie yet
July 23, 2012
I've been on a bit of a pie making craze for the past few months and this is my most favorite recipe yet. But don't take my word for it, my brother-in-law and boyfriend also enjoyed it. I will make this one again and again!
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatefromScratch
,NJ
July 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic and Easy
July 18, 2012
Everyone ranted and raved endlessly about how delicious and perfect it was. It didn't involve much effort or cost (an added perk to any recipe). The only thing I'd have to add to this, is that you should add the sugar slowly if you're making it during peak blueberry season, which I did. I had deliciously ripe berries. I'm not a fan of overly sweet and therefore, had to add a bit more lemon to accommodate the sweetness. If I had added the sugar a little at a time, I could have avoided needing additional lemon.
That being said...it's still one of the best pies I've ever made and will be the only recipe I use from this point on due to its simplicity and humble means of presenting perfectly ripe berries. I blogged it too. A definite keeper in the recipe box. The crust to filling ratio is spot on.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture, Ingredients
Review 8 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vhmp
,Wellington
,Fl
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and super easy recipe!
June 23, 2012
I made this pie last week and it was incredibly easy to make (I have never made pie in my life) and it tasted sooooooooooooooooooooo good. I'm not big on sweets and this was the perfect amount of sweetness and tartness. I ate at least 3 slices it was so yummy and I'm getting ready to make another one tonight.
Oh and I did a lattice top, so pretty!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again