Blueberry Crisp

Tart blueberries and a slightly crunchy, sweet topping come together in this easy-to-make dessert. For maximum taste, try to find wild berries (fresh or frozen), rather than the cultivated ones. The crisp is terrific served with vanilla ice cream.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Blueberry Crisp
Review 1 for Blueberry Crisp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tashi
,Washington
,DC
DC
September 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very versatile recipe
September 17, 2012
My only addition when making this recipe with blueberries was to add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to the topping. I have recently substituted peaches and today I am using apples for the filling with wonderful results. This is a breakfast favorite at our house when topped with a dollop of Greek yogurt.
Review 2 for Blueberry Crisp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melhivyleague
,Roseburg
,OR
Oregon
October 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gluten Free Friendly Crowd Pleaser
October 2, 2011
I was happy that this crisp was so simple to assemble & the perfect end to a late summer dinner party. I substituted 1/2 cup of flour for 1/2 cup of Pamela's GF pancake mix to accommodate a specific guest, but no one noticed. The whole crowd love it. Topped with fresh whipped cream & served with coffee. I look forward to trying this versatile topping with other fruits year round - or for breakfast.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, gluten free friendly
Review 3 for Blueberry Crisp
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SallyK66
East Lansing, MI
August 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy, fast, and delicious
August 20, 2011
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that the topping is a little dry if you make it the way the recipe specifies. I added an extra Tbsp. of butter and that seemed to help—I'd recommend doing that, although it does make it a little unhealthier. However, given that the bulk of this recipe is blueberries, I decided that was okay. I'd also recommend making it a little ahead of time to let the blueberries solidify a little after coming out of the oven—they come out super liquidy—but I've found that with other crisp recipes. Letting it sit a couple hours does the trick.
A great dessert option to serve a (small) crowd if you don't have much time!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture
Review 4 for Blueberry Crisp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bm23
Boston, MA
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
January 23, 2011
Love the lemon/blueberry combination. Used frozen wild blueberries and came out great. Not too sweet, oat mixture adds a nice contrast in texture. Berry flavor stays natural without lots of sugar, etc. Easy to prepare!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Blueberry Crisp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
renechitown
Chicago
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy, fresh and fruity!
October 17, 2010
This recipe is as simple as it reads and it turns out perfectly. I actually substituted. . half blueberry half blackberry as we are late in the season and blueberrys cost too much! It was the perfect amount of sweet and a little tart. The crisp was easy as well-which I mixed with my hands to get the right consistency. I wouldn't change anything though I did use salted butter for oiling the dish. . a new family fav!
Review 6 for Blueberry Crisp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dianns
Denver, CO
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blueberry Crisp
September 13, 2010
This is possibly the best recipe for blueberries and everyone that I serve it to absolutely loves it!
Review 7 for Blueberry Crisp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LKNCooks
New Orleans, LA
July 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Delicious Recipe
July 28, 2010
This is an easy and delicious recipe. I actually prefer dark brown sugar to light brown. It offers a deeper flavor. I have only used fresh blueberries, so I cannot attest to how frozen blueberries come out.
Review 8 for Blueberry Crisp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soma
Princeton, NJ
June 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
June 12, 2010
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have any lemon on hand so I omitted that step. Instead, when I spread the berries in my baking dish, I sprinkled about a teaspoon of sugar over them to draw out the natural juices. This may have made it sweeter than intended, but It was delicious. The only problem I had was using a fork to mix ingredients, but this always happens to me when a recipe calls for using a fork or pastry blender to mix. I just can't get the hang of it. I transferred the contents to my food processor and pulsed until it was right. I will definitely make this again!