Blueberry-Cornmeal Muffins

The crunch of cornmeal is a nice counterpoint to the juicy burst of blueberries in these tender muffins. If organic wild blueberries or huckleberries are available fresh or frozen in your market, they are a wonderful stand-in for cultivated blueberries. These wild fruits are smaller and have thinner skins than their domestic kin. To keep the berries from sinking to the bottom of the muffins, toss them in a sieve with 1 Tbs. flour before adding them to the batter. If using frozen berries, add them without thawing or they will exude a lot of juice.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Blueberry-Cornmeal Muffins
Review 1 for Blueberry-Cornmeal Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
September 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good alternative Bluberry muffin
September 3, 2012
These muffins come out as sort af a standard blueberry muffin-cornbread hybrid. They aren't quite as sweet as I was expecting, but that ended up making them a nice foil for fresh fruit, rather than being overpoweringly sugary. I won't replace my favorite standard BB muffin recipe with this one, but we like having these occasionally when a less-sweet version is needed.
Review 2 for Blueberry-Cornmeal Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Autumn23
February 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Morning Snack
February 9, 2012
I made these muffins on a morning off. Easy to prepare and great taste. I added a little honey to the wet ingredients for a bit more sweetness
Review 3 for Blueberry-Cornmeal Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thuy
San Diego, CA
January 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for breakfast at the office!
January 30, 2011
I baked these muffins on a Sunday, brought them in on a Monday morning to the office, and by the end of day, these bad boys were all gone! My co-workers loved the mix of cornmeal and fresh blueberries, and I have to agree - the hint of sweetness from the brown sugar and tartness of the berries are a pleasing combination. I wouldn't hesitate to bake these again for breakfast. Yummy!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Blueberry-Cornmeal Muffins
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CaliforniaGirlInExile
Grosseibstadt, Bavaria
August 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A waste of blueberries...
August 14, 2010
We made this recipe yesterday and all agreed that the combination cornmeal and blueberries is far from perfect. The cornmeal flavor is much to strong and overpowers the blueberries totally. There are definitely better recipes for blueberry muffins.