BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers

These airy golden puffs are served warm from the oven at BLT Steak, a modern American steakhouse opened by acclaimed French chef Laurent Tourondel. Easy to make at home, the popovers are delicious paired with our Steakhouse Filets Mignons (see related recipe at left). After rotating the pan partway through the baking time, don't open the oven door again until the popovers are done; this will help ensure they rise evenly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
Review 1 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CET987
November 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Constant Request
November 19, 2012
My older brother is a chef and continues to ask for these popovers! Easy to make and taste delicious. Lots of cheese, however, so make sure to balance it out with something green.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chefin
,Atlanta
,GA
November 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Bit Awkward
November 4, 2012
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but my popovers didn't rise like those in the picture and I could taste the egg in them. I think the eggs may have cooked a bit when I added the hot milk.
Pros: Quick
Review 3 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ashlinh
Elk Grove, CA
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent recipe but can use a little twist!
April 7, 2011
I made it exactly as instructed and they turned out fantastic, not to mention how fun it was to watch them puffed up! However, I added chives to the 2nd batch and think the salt amount should be reduced a bit - perhaps 1/3 less kosher salt. I'll definitely try the chives again and will make a cinnamon-sugar butter spread for those w/o chives. Very delicious!!!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveinDestin
Destin, Fl
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent but...
April 4, 2011
I've been making Yorkshire pudding for decades and these popovers are much more reliable though a bit dry in comparison. I would definitely have butter or gravy handy for dipping. I strongly recommend popover tins, not muffin tins (I got mine here).
Review 5 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dessertmaker
Sacramento, CA
March 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
O...M...G...
March 13, 2011
These are sooooo good. hollow, flaky, perfect golden crust with a soft flaky middle. And the cheese!!!!! All I can say is these are soooooo good. Serve pipin' hot!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jostayner
vancouver
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Recipe
March 10, 2011
I was so nervous to try this recipe...because I was making it for my uncle - who is the king of popovers in our family. They turned out perfect - so delicious...and easy to make! This recipe made enough batter for 24 mini-popovers (in case you want to cut it in half). Will definitely make this again. A great side for short ribs.
Review 7 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cookchallenger
RI
March 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful result!
March 6, 2011
Turns out perfect as expected.
So, What if i use a muffin tin pan?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MRIL
Posted April 10, 2011
so...did you use a muffin tin???
Curious bc I'd like to use a muffin tin!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ceemcee
Reno, NV
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply great
February 25, 2011
Just made them. Absolutely the best tasting and largest popped popover I've ever seen or had. Wonderful.
Review 9 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marlin
Walnut Creek, CA
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Popover Ever!!!!
February 24, 2011
This is hands down the Best Popover recipe you will find. I have tried dozens of other variations and this is the only one that delivers. Excellent Popover taste and Texture.
Review 10 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BrooklynFoodie
Brooklyn, NY
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it! These were a hit.
February 24, 2011
Tried these last night to go with a roast beef. First time I've made popovers and it was a hit! Thanks.
Review 11 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SamanthaV
Tucson, AZ
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING!!!!!
February 24, 2011
I had these when I went to BLT and loved them and I'm thrilled to find the recipe here.
Thanks for publishing this!!!
Review 12 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CharLovesToCook
Utah
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Popovers are easy!
February 23, 2011
Tried these, LOVED these!
To the previous reviewer who couldn't figure out when add the cheese, read the recipe: "Fill the prepared cups about three-fourths full with batter and sprinkle each with 1/2 oz. cheese."
Review 13 for BLT Steak Gruyere Popovers
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sadieshopper
gwynedd valley, pa
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-14points
0of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where's the cheese?
February 20, 2011
These look absolutely perfect. Except I'll have to guess when to add the cheese; with the liquid, with the flour or do I stir it in after adding the milk??? I'm guessing the cheese should be stirred in after adding the milk. Stay tuned, I'll be back to let you know the result!
Response from Williams-Sonomaby JamesTest KitchenFebruary 23, 2011
Hi Sadieshopper,
I think you may have just overlooked that part in the recipe. In the 3rd step of the instructions it says to "Fill the prepared cups about three-fourths full with batter and sprinkle each with 1/2 oz. cheese."
I hope you give them a try because they are fantastic. When we tested them, we couldn't stop eating them!
-James
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
sadieshopper
gwynedd valley, pa
Posted February 24, 2011
OOPs!
My apologies. I've discovered speed reading doesn't work when following a recipe. The Popover pan is great and my family really enjoyed the Gruyere Popovers.
0points
Customer avatar
cookiesncoffee
Posted February 23, 2011
When to add cheese
It says right in the recipe to add 1/2 oz. of cheese to the top of the batter before baking. These are wonderful!
0points
Customer avatar
VinnieB
Somerville, Mass.
Posted February 22, 2011
Recipe Does Say When to add Cheese
In response to sadieshopper's review stating the recipe didn't explain when to add the cheese: unless the recipe has been changed since the review was posted, it did say when to add the cheese. Specifically, it says to sprinkle 1/2 oz of cheese to the top of each popover before placing in the oven.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)