Blackberry Muffins

The abundance of fresh ripe berries is one of the pleasures of summer. Each variety in the seasonal trinity-blackberries, blueberries and raspberries-works beautifully in this recipe. Remember to treat fresh berries gently after purchase. If not using them immediately, store them for up to 2 days in the refrigerator. Rinse the berries briefly in a colander before use, then pick over the berries and discard any that are moldy or mushy. Let dry in the colander or on a layer of paper towels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Blackberry Muffins
Review 1 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AUBABY
,Wetumpka
,AL
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best muffins I've ever made!
March 2, 2014
I made these for Sunday morning breakfast and they were delicious. The topping really makes the muffin. I followed the recipe and had no issues. They made up quick and baked beautifully.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
guysrose
,Harts
,WV
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Recipe!!!
June 23, 2012
I used fresh picked wild blackberries that grow in our mountains here in WV, and these muffins are wonderful! The only change I made was to use light brown sugar in the topping. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Blackberry Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cupcake808
June 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good recipe
June 14, 2012
The blackberries I used were quite soft so I patted them dry, put them on a baking sheet, and threw them in the freezer right before starting on the topping. When it was time to add them into the batter, they were just firm enough not to break and bleed all over the batter.
Overall, a very good recipe that was easy to make; very moist muffins . I agree with the other reviewer about using brown sugar for the topping - not so much for the browning, but more for the taste. The brown sugar topping may not be as crisp right out of the oven, but the next day the topping will have softened regardless of using white or brown sugar. Perhaps a mix of brown and white sugar would work best. I did use the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up the topping a bit.
The muffins were a bit sweet with the topping so cutting back on the sugar, as others suggested, would not be a bad idea. The muffins would also be very good without the topping.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Port Saint Lucie
,Fl
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Muffins!
April 29, 2012
My husband asked me to bake something for a bake sale he was having at work. I had a pint of blackberries that weren't very sweet and came across this recipe, so I thought I could use them to make muffins. I used my jumbo muffin tin (better for a bake sale) and they were amazing! They sold for $5 a piece and my husband said they were gone as soon as he put them down. I can't wait to make them again.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again