Blackberry Muffins

The abundance of fresh ripe berries is one of the pleasures of summer. Each variety in the seasonal trinity-blackberries, blueberries and raspberries-works beautifully in this recipe. Remember to treat fresh berries gently after purchase. If not using them immediately, store them for up to 2 days in the refrigerator. Rinse the berries briefly in a colander before use, then pick over the berries and discard any that are moldy or mushy. Let dry in the colander or on a layer of paper towels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Blackberry Muffins
Review 1 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AUBABY
,Wetumpka
,AL
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best muffins I've ever made!
March 2, 2014
I made these for Sunday morning breakfast and they were delicious. The topping really makes the muffin. I followed the recipe and had no issues. They made up quick and baked beautifully.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
guysrose
,Harts
,WV
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Recipe!!!
June 23, 2012
I used fresh picked wild blackberries that grow in our mountains here in WV, and these muffins are wonderful! The only change I made was to use light brown sugar in the topping. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Blackberry Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cupcake808
June 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good recipe
June 14, 2012
The blackberries I used were quite soft so I patted them dry, put them on a baking sheet, and threw them in the freezer right before starting on the topping. When it was time to add them into the batter, they were just firm enough not to break and bleed all over the batter.
Overall, a very good recipe that was easy to make; very moist muffins . I agree with the other reviewer about using brown sugar for the topping - not so much for the browning, but more for the taste. The brown sugar topping may not be as crisp right out of the oven, but the next day the topping will have softened regardless of using white or brown sugar. Perhaps a mix of brown and white sugar would work best. I did use the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up the topping a bit.
The muffins were a bit sweet with the topping so cutting back on the sugar, as others suggested, would not be a bad idea. The muffins would also be very good without the topping.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Port Saint Lucie
,Fl
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Muffins!
April 29, 2012
My husband asked me to bake something for a bake sale he was having at work. I had a pint of blackberries that weren't very sweet and came across this recipe, so I thought I could use them to make muffins. I used my jumbo muffin tin (better for a bake sale) and they were amazing! They sold for $5 a piece and my husband said they were gone as soon as he put them down. I can't wait to make them again.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Blackberry Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Melodious
Seattle, WA
August 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty with Fresh Berries
August 28, 2011
Good recipe that I will make again. The fresh blackberries were delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except that I lowered the sugar to 1/2 cup, based on previous reviews, and that was the right amount of sweetness for me. Next time I will add the berries directly to the muffin tin, to prevent them from getting overly squished while folding them into the batter. My batter didn't come to the rim, but with the topping the muffins were tall enough. The topping never really browned, though, and I think I overcooked the muffins a bit, waiting for the topping to get done. Next time I'll use part or all brown sugar in the topping to see if that helps.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture, Appearance
Review 6 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Cleveland, oh
August 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist & Delicious
August 17, 2011
I used baking splenda in the muffin mix and needed to add 1 cup of cherries to my 1 cup of freshly picked blackberries (end of the season).
Turned out great with only 20 minutes in the oven.
Next time I will try mixing in some whole wheat flour.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
erinpcrum
August 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist and fluffy muffins
August 16, 2011
Followed the recipe to the tee -- delish! I will definitely be adding this to my favorites box.
Review 8 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ocamcaro
Houston, TX
July 1, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious!
July 1, 2011
I didn't have buttermilk, so I added 1 tbs os vinegar + fat free milk to complete a cup, So I was kinda afraid but they turned out great! with just the perfect amount of sweetness
I also made it with blackberries, strawberries and raspberries, so I'll call it a Tri-berry muffin!
The crust was crispy and delicious! I'll probably make it again. . .
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Blackberry Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
greeneyes
NYC
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great but lower the amount of sugar!
May 31, 2011
Really tasty but make sure you lower the amount of sugar! It was much too sweet and the berries as sweetness.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: too much sugar!
Review 10 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Texas
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Muffins Ever!
January 26, 2011
These muffins are perfect! They have definitely become a family favorite.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kal8
Acton, MA
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic: lower fat
December 31, 2010
These were the best. To make them more heart friendly, i used fat free buttermilk and an egg beater as substitutes. We used raspberries as i couldn't find blackberries and yum, any fruit would work. My family lives in a blackberry area, oregon/seattle and this will be the best recipe yet.
Review 12 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Down2Eat
Madison WI
July 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum! Great Muffin Recipe!
July 22, 2010
The muffins themselves aren't overly sweet, but the crust on the top provides a crispy sweetness. I will be making these again :)
Review 13 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ymwelcom
Marietta, GA
July 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing muffin!
July 10, 2010
This was very delicious! The topping was amazing. I reduced the sugar amount in the batter to 1/2 C just because I ran out but I thought it was perfect. I used half fresh and half frozen blackberries. I'll make it again!
Review 14 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorwichTerrierMom
West Virginia
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Muffin Ever
May 26, 2010
I have tried this recipe with cherries and with apples also but the blackberry is my favorite. It is perfect every time. For a less sweet version I omit the topping.
Review 15 for Blackberry Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jullyjules
Long Island, NY
May 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
May 24, 2010
Did exactly as it was described, and came out fantastic! My picky sister loooved these muffins.. tangy yet sweet blackberries make these muffins very unique-!