Black Forest Cake

A filling of cherries and kirsch-flavored whipped cream is standard in this classic German cake. To poach the cherries, in a small saucepan over medium heat, bring 1 3/4 cups water and 1/3 cup granulated sugar to a boil, stirring occasionally. Add 1 cup fresh pitted Bing or other dark sweet cherries, reduce the heat to low and cook until soft, about 10 minutes. Let the cherries cool, then drain; discard the syrup. Frozen or jarred cherries may also be used. Cook the frozen cherries as directed above. Jarred cherries have already been poached.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Black Forest Cake
Review 1 for Black Forest Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TourianKitchen
,Raleigh
,NC
July 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Effort!
July 5, 2013
My daughter and i tackled this recipe for a Fourth of July cookout. We took some time the week before to familiarize ourselves with the recipe and gather the ingredients. The effort was well worth it. We followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! The cake was moist, not egg-y, and the flavor of the cherry syrup and cherries along with the whipped cream was divine! We used the "chopstick" method to pit the cherries, and used a potato peeler to shave the chocolate (1/2 cup was more than enough to sprinkle atop the cake). We will definitely make this cake again!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Black Forest Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anapaula
,Buenos aires
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect to impress at tea time!
October 4, 2012
The cake is outstanding, follow exactly the recipe, it is not a common cake, the flour amount is right as this is a very humid, almost flourless chocolate cake, this is one of the reasons of such a delicate cake in the end. Before cutting the cake into layers let it stand for about 5 hours, it is better if you bake the it one day ahead.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Black Forest Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nolaray
Canton, MI
December 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Turned out great
December 19, 2011
Made this for a party and everyone loved it! Surprised by the other reviews. Tasted great.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Black Forest Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IrishSue
Boston, MA
October 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
don't waste time on this!
October 28, 2010
I wish I had read the review on this, but I didn't and I agree totally that this cake was very eggy and tasteless. I too have made many other desserts and dinners from this site and this is my first disappointment. Somethings not quite right with this recipe.
Review 5 for Black Forest Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jewellybug
Toronto, Canada
October 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did they really mean 1/2 cup of flour?
October 23, 2010
I'm not sure that the recipe was written correctly on the webpage. It seems like it needs 1.5 cups of flour, NOT 0.5 cups of flour (seems way too low for a cake recipe). I followed the recipe to a T and the cake did not rise and it tasted very eggy. I have made several Williams Sonoma recipes which have all turned out great so I'm really disappointed in this one.