Black Bottom Cupcakes

Why is there vinegar in the cupcake batter? Baking soda, the ingredient that makes these cupcakes rise, starts to work only when it comes in contact with an acidic ingredient. Some common types used in baking are lemon juice, buttermilk and vinegar. Sweet balsamic vinegar, which has a flavor that goes well with the rich flavor of cocoa, is added to the batter here. It gives these cupcakes a deep, full flavor. Surprisingly, they wont taste anything like vinegar after the batter is baked.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Black Bottom Cupcakes
Review 1 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mxm242
January 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect cupcakes for chocolate lovers
January 19, 2014
I love baking these cupcakes, they are really easy to make and are really good so I try to only make them when I'm taking them somewhere otherwise I would eat them all. They taste great without frosting but I sometimes put chocolate frosting on them too. They are also good for Halloween, I used orange white chocolate chips and used food coloring to make the cream cheese filling orange.
Review 2 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marnster
,Fergus
,ON
April 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A+++Yummie!
April 1, 2013
I am not a baker, I love to cook. However this was an easy to follow recipe. 3 levels of taste. Everyone loved them. Will make again absolutely! I didn't have a pastry bag but will try the other persons suggestion of spooning the filling. Great recipe.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radski5
,West Allis
,WI
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best version of this cupcake recipe I've tried
February 17, 2012
Don't let the list of ingredients or the steps keep you from trying this recipe. It's a winner. They sell out at each bake sale I make them for and are a family favorite. I've tried other recipe variations of this cupcake and they aren't as full of chocolate flavor as this one. The balsamic vinegar makes a difference in the end result. They also turn out just fine if you put in a small scoop of the chocolate batter, then a small scoop of cream cheese batter followed by another small scoop of chocolate batter instead of using a pastry bag or zipper type bag for the filling. It's a wonderful and popular cupcake!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefRoxi
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy (but not so healthy)
January 29, 2012
Very delicious - satisfied the chocolate craving. Received rave reviews from others. Makes a lot (24). Recipe has them cool for a long time (which is not practical if you need to reuse the pan), I only left them in the pan for 5-10 minutes before pulling them out and they turned out fine. Yum!
Pros: fun