Berry Galette

A food processor makes this flaky pastry dough in a snap. The recipe yields enough dough for three pies or galettes, such as this berry-filled galette.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Berry Galette
Review 1 for Berry Galette
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sanfranchristo
San Francisco
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Technique to Learn
September 7, 2011
This is an incredibly easy way to take advantage of just about any seasonal fruit, and the rustic presentation is perfect for those without much baking experience or equipment.
I made 1/3 of the dough for only one galette, which worked great. I did make a couple of changes: added lemon zest from the lemons to the blueberries (in addition to the juice), used corn starch instead of flour, and added some bits of butter to the top before putting in the oven. Depending on your berries, you may want a bit more sugar than called for. One final recommendation - use an egg wash on the crust and then top with a course sugar (demerara works great) for a nicer presentation and texture.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Victoria, Product Content TeamDecember 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your great recipe review! Your finished galette really looks great and your tip about Demerara sugar is incredibly helpful. We look forward to reading more of your reviews in the future.
Thanks again for your feedback!
-Victoria
Review 2 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bgrand
,New York
,NY
June 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy to make
June 16, 2013
This rustic tart was a huge hit at dinner -- everyone went for seconds! The filling was not too sweet and the dough was about as easy as you could possibly make. It did need to chill in the fridge for 30 minutes to make rolling out easier. We did the egg wash and turbinado sugar along the crust and it came out great.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stretchad
,Seattle
,Wa
May 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic recipe and super easy dough!
May 12, 2013
I've always struggled with homemade pastry crust. It never comes out quite right. But this recipe is so simple and so easy it is hard to mess it up. Kept everything nice and cold. Minimal pulsing in the food processor, and the crust came out flaky and perfect. I sprinkled a little sugar on the edges before baking to give it a little something extra. Also used a mix of blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries since the cost of blackberries and blueberries in my store was pretty pricey this weekend. I could see this being very tasty with peaches or any other fruit.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moreskinnydays
,Long Beach
,CA
Long Beach, CA
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great summer dessert with fresh seasonal fruit
August 6, 2012
I made this for an August outdoor dinner party. I used blueberries and blackberries for one galette, fresh peaches for another, and froze the third. The recipe was not complex even with a pastry cutter and people always appreciate fresh farmers' market produce. It was a hit! I served both with crème Chantilly. The presentation was excellent--rustic yet a bit more sophisticated than a crumble without being over-the-top fussy.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Berry Galette
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
klloch
West TN
February 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a sticky situation
February 24, 2012
:-)
Had to chill the dough it was going to take quite awhile so I could work with it! There's no way I could've handled it fresh without adding alot more flour to the rolling out process.
Definitely an egg wash.
Review 6 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
petitesouris
June 24, 2011
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quick & easy & pretty
June 24, 2011
i wanted to make some dessert but I was too lazy to go out for grocery shopping. I found this recipe and thought of an old box of strawberries in the fridge, so I made this with strawberries instead and it worked out great! It looked very pretty too. I love it when i can make something special without shopping for special ingredients!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adrirod
April 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe
April 12, 2011
I used storebought pie dough and filled it with blackberries and raspberries the first time around and it was great. Next time I did it with the blackberries and blueberries and also was very well received. It is not a heavy dessert and the filing is customizable from different berries to even apples and other fruits!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prilgator
wv
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty Easy and Quick
January 5, 2011
this recipe was really nice, the pastry dough was delicious. i would recommend that you use 1/2 a cup of sugar and about 2 1/2 cups of fresh or frozen fruit. and use a big enough sheet pan to catch any juice that may spill out. it would be really pretty with coarse sugar sprinkled on the dough when baking.