Berry Galette

A food processor makes this flaky pastry dough in a snap. The recipe yields enough dough for three pies or galettes, such as this berry-filled galette.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Berry Galette
Review 1 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bgrand
,New York
,NY
June 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy to make
June 16, 2013
This rustic tart was a huge hit at dinner -- everyone went for seconds! The filling was not too sweet and the dough was about as easy as you could possibly make. It did need to chill in the fridge for 30 minutes to make rolling out easier. We did the egg wash and turbinado sugar along the crust and it came out great.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stretchad
,Seattle
,Wa
May 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic recipe and super easy dough!
May 12, 2013
I've always struggled with homemade pastry crust. It never comes out quite right. But this recipe is so simple and so easy it is hard to mess it up. Kept everything nice and cold. Minimal pulsing in the food processor, and the crust came out flaky and perfect. I sprinkled a little sugar on the edges before baking to give it a little something extra. Also used a mix of blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries since the cost of blackberries and blueberries in my store was pretty pricey this weekend. I could see this being very tasty with peaches or any other fruit.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Berry Galette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moreskinnydays
,Long Beach
,CA
Long Beach, CA
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great summer dessert with fresh seasonal fruit
August 6, 2012
I made this for an August outdoor dinner party. I used blueberries and blackberries for one galette, fresh peaches for another, and froze the third. The recipe was not complex even with a pastry cutter and people always appreciate fresh farmers' market produce. It was a hit! I served both with crème Chantilly. The presentation was excellent--rustic yet a bit more sophisticated than a crumble without being over-the-top fussy.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Berry Galette
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
klloch
West TN
February 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a sticky situation
February 24, 2012
:-)
Had to chill the dough it was going to take quite awhile so I could work with it! There's no way I could've handled it fresh without adding alot more flour to the rolling out process.
Definitely an egg wash.