Beef Stroganoff

Creme fraiche is similar to sour cream but milder and sweeter, with a touch of nuttiness. Unlike sour cream, it can be simmered in sauces without curdling. Look for creme fraiche at well-stocked supermarkets or at gourmet food stores. To make your own, combine 1 cup of nonultrapasteurized heavy cream and 1 Tbs. buttermilk in a saucepan and heat over medium-low heat until just lukewarm. Pour into a bowl, cover loosely and let stand at room temperature until thickened, 8 to 48 hours or more. Chill before using.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Stroganoff
Review 1 for Beef Stroganoff
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
love2wine
,Sonoma County
,Ca
November 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much mustard
November 23, 2014
I had high hopes for this after reading the reviews. It had too much Dijon for my liking and my kids didn't like it either. Highly suggest that the Dijon is skipped or very little is added.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Taste
Review 2 for Beef Stroganoff
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jenfromsanfran
December 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and tasty recipe
December 27, 2012
I made half of this recipe for two. It was very simple and fast even for a week night. I used sour cream instead.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Beef Stroganoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CherylBB
Hollywood, FL
March 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich Flavor
March 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I did have to cook my mushrooms longer to get them browned, but it may be because I added twice as much as the recipe called for.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Beef Stroganoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tripeach
,San Diego
,CA
February 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vegetarian Version
February 21, 2012
After reading these reviews and those of the vegetarian stroganoff on the William-Sonoma site, I decided to use this recipe as my basis. I added one minced shallot and sauted with the leeks, subbed 1C wine, 1.1/2 C vegetable broth for the beef broth, used 2lbs total of mushrooms (crimini, button, shitake) in place of the beef and mushrooms, and a total of 8oz creme fresh (yummy stuff). Turned out fantastic with a "make again" vote from my husband.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again