Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)

Turnips have a delicately sweet flavor when young, but as they mature they lose their sweetness and become woody. Therefore, it is best to buy them when they are at their peak, between November and February. The greens, which are edible, should be bright green and garden fresh. If unavailable, substitute Swiss chard, dandelion greens, beet greens or kale.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
Review 1 for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MASTERCOOKAKKELLEY
,WASILLA
,AK
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great week in stew
March 1, 2014
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST FRENCH BEEF STEW I HAVE FOUND. USE CABERNET SAUVIGON WINE FOR BEST FAVOR. ALSO ADD A FEW MUSHROONS FOR MORE FAVER. USE A SWEET TYPE OF ONION,NOT YELLOW ONIONS. YOU GET A MORE BALANCE BETWEEN SALT AND SWEETNESS.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BethB3379
,Chicago-land
,IL
January 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Flavor
January 30, 2012
This recipe was very easy to follow. I used a 3lb Chuck Roast and hand trimmed off most of the fat, and substituted red Swiss Chard for the turnip greens. Served it on a bed of creamy mashed potatoes with slices of fresh French bread. To die for!!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 3 for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
minzoni
,Marlton
,NJ
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice stew
October 17, 2011
This stew has great flavor and is easy to put together. Let it simmer away. I used 2 1/4 lbs of beef rather than the 3 lbs that the recipe calls for and added a small bunch of baby carrots sliced diagonally. It was beautiful and tasty! My guests loved it.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nilpi
Beverly Hills, CA
December 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Healthy, healthy, healthy
December 10, 2010
How wonderul to have an excellent beef stew recipe without potatoes. Often we want a wholesome meal with all the benefits and without the starch and unhealthy aspect. Well, this one qualifies, and it is so simple to make. The turnips are a beautiful substitute for potatoes and the collard greens are simply spectacular!
Review 5 for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gregor1863
Columbus, OH
October 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Fall Dish
October 31, 2010
Made this recently, just as the weather started to cool in the Midwest. The turnips are a wonderful, and healthier, alternative to potatoes. The stew is thick and has a wonderful aroma as it simmers for 2 hours. The meat breaks down nicely and practically melts in your mouth. I added mushrooms and peas for some extra filling...truly a meal in a bowl.
Finally, don't skip the greens as they are packed full of nutrients!
Review 6 for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chagrinfalls
Northeast Ohio
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
September 8, 2010
An absolutely wonderful, rich, savory dish. We used regular sirloin meat (not tip), a Cotes-du-Rhone wine, and equal portions of bacon and pancetta.
Review 7 for Beef Stew with Turnips (Beef Bourguignonne)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cdreyer
Costa Mesa, CA
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Stew
May 3, 2010
This stew is a bit of work, but had amazing flavor and was worth it. I had not used turnips before, but they turned out wonderfully. I did not even miss the potatoes I would normally put in something like this.