Beef Stew with Chestnuts

Prepared in a slow cooker, this savory stew is ideal for a winter supper by the fireplace. Accompany with a tossed green salad, crusty bread and a full-bodied red wine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Stew with Chestnuts
Review 1 for Beef Stew with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
danya
January 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple & Delish!
January 19, 2013
This recipe ended up being even better than I expected and my husband loved it also. 2 tips: use a decent red wine (i.e., not a cooking wine) and stir it every hour or hour and a half. I used a beef shank and kept it whole and it turned out lovely and flavorful. Enjoy!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Beef Stew with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoupCook
September 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have soup parties once a month
September 19, 2011
This is one of my standard favorites, I have been making it for years (barely modified). I start with fine chopped onions, carrots and celery as the base which break down over the hours into the basic stew sauce. Two-three hours into the cooking I then add chunks of carrots, celery and the potatoes. And more wine never hurt anything!
Review 3 for Beef Stew with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BabsieD
New Fairfield, CT
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a cold day
November 8, 2010
I have prepared this stew several times and it is amazing! My husband requests it as soon as there is a chill in the air. I have made it with and without the chestnuts, but I find that the chestnuts give it a nice flavor. It is easy to prepare and I love that I can just set it in the crockpot & forget it. I have served it with a crusty roasted garlic bread and it is so good. Perfect for a cold night in front of the fire.
Review 4 for Beef Stew with Chestnuts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jennisue
California
July 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect slow cooked stew
July 11, 2010
I loved this stew....though I must confess I made it without the chestnuts. I wanted a good slow cooker stew, so I tried it and it was really easy and really good. I would add a bit more carrots and celery next time around.