Beef Stew with Bacon

Using frozen pearl onions saves time and labor, but if you prefer, substitute 1 large yellow onion, chopped, for the pearl onions.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Stew with Bacon
Review 1 for Beef Stew with Bacon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lumiel
,Las Vegas
,NV
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazingly Tender Beef Stew
February 28, 2013
Love this recipe. I didn't have mushrooms on hand, and wanted to use up some celery so that went into the pot. I cooked the bacon in garlic olive oil and added some thyme. I only had 1 dried rosemary sprig, and I put that into the pot while cooking. I misread the recipe and layered the veggies without mixing them over the beef - not sure if it helped keep the beef tender or not, but turned out fantastic.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again, yummy!
Review 2 for Beef Stew with Bacon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KateKM
October 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hearty and delicious
October 1, 2012
This was easy and tasty. We added a 1/2 cup more wine towards the end to give it a little more flavor.
Review 3 for Beef Stew with Bacon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
khueggen
November 23, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Stew Ever
November 23, 2011
This is hands down the best beef stew I have ever tasted. It was a bit of prep work but the slow cooker makes up for it. Make a LARGE batch as it freezes incredibly well and you will have a number of fantastic meals all ready to go!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Beef Stew with Bacon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJAYNE
,Mattoon
,IL
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beef Stew with Bacon
November 21, 2011
I made this on 11/19 and served it on 11/20. Absolutely delicious! I substituted cubed butternut squash for the carrots and had to use dried rosemary. I also served the petite bleu cheese popovers. Great meal for a cold, rainy day.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Ingredients
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Beef Stew with Bacon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Di77
,Huntersville
,NC
September 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Beef stew
September 26, 2011
I just made the Beef stew and follow all the steps,except I did not use rosemary.And, It was delicious.The best stew in a slow cooker I have ever made. I have tried many recipes but this is by far the best. The prep time is a little work but it is worth it because it helps with the taste. If you just put raw meat in slow cooker it tastes like boiled. I cooked mashed potatoes with it . I am a big fan of W-S recipes.I made some cold appetizers for a party the other night (from W-S site recipe), my guest thought they were in a restaurant, and were very impressed.Thank you W- S for sharing your recipes.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again