Beef Chili with Masa Harina

There are as many versions of chili as there are chili cooks. This one includes a signature flavor of the American Southwest: masa harina. The Mexican corn flour used for making tortillas and tamales, masa harina is made by grinding corn kernels that have been simmered in a slaked lime solution and then dried. It is sold in well-stocked food stores and in Latin markets. Added to the chili near the end of cooking, masa harina thickens the liquid slightly, giving it body, and imparts a subtle corn flavor.Grind the meat yourself or ask the butcher to grind it fresh for chili, using the large holes of a meat grinder to give it a coarse texture. Accompany the chili with small bowls of sour cream, salsa, shredded cheddar cheese and chopped green onions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Chili with Masa Harina
Review 1 for Beef Chili with Masa Harina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InBayCountry
,Deale
,MD
October 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chili Lover Approved!
October 14, 2013
Included a roasted red pepper and two roasted jalapeños. Used 3/4 lbs dried red kidney beans, soaking overnight and simmered for two-three hours prior to adding to rest of ingredients. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us, Williams-Sonoma! We will be making this Chili again and again!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, great flavor!
Review 2 for Beef Chili with Masa Harina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MdrSpencer
February 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sweet Red Peppers & Jalapenos
February 13, 2013
These two additions make chili much more interesting. Fresh jalapenos are the best, but pickled works fine. The red bell pepper adds a subtle sweetness.
Pros: Quick, Good Value
Review 3 for Beef Chili with Masa Harina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bigdaddy20968
May 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe
May 3, 2012
This recipe is pretty much the same recipe i use. The only thing i do different is i use 1 tablespoon of allspice, and i use four 14.5 oz cans of stewed tomatoes. I use the Mexican style if i can find them,any type of stewed tomatoes will work. I use one 12 oz can of tomatoes paste. I use one 16 oz bag of dry pinto beans, I let the beans soak in a ample amount of water over night and cook on simmer for about three hours. I think they are better beans there not soaked in sodium like the canned beans.pinto beans is all i use.
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Prinsesse
San Diego, CA
Posted January 29, 2013
Sounds good but...
I ALWAYS appreciate getting new insights and twists on recipes and oftentimes try suggestions/additions made by commentors. My only problem is, that please review the recipe as is before rating it. This review says they do it similar, then goes on to say a bunch of things they do differently. Did you rate the actual recipe or the modified one (which also sounds delicious) but when I am looking at reviews, I want a clear view of how the ACTUAL recipe is.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Beef Chili with Masa Harina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tahoechef
,Incline Village
,NV
January 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Football Meal
January 15, 2012
I made this recipe using ground turkey instead of ground beef, slightly more chili powder than the recipe called for and diced fire roasted tomatoes instead of crushed tomatoes. I also used my slow cooker on low for 4 hours instead of simmering on the stove. I added the beans and the masa for the last 1/2 hour of cooking time. I served it topped with shredded cheese and cornbread on the side. It had the perfect level of heat. I will definitely make this again!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Beef Chili with Masa Harina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kattb
,st. louis
,mo
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy, hearty and quick
January 9, 2012
This was a great basic chili recipe that is mild enough to be a crowd pleaser while maintaining some layers of unique flavor from the beer, masa and coriander. I added some sweet red peppers and an extra jalapeno for some heat. If you do not have masa you can use corn starch to thicken, though you will not have the corn flavor the masa brings. Took me 70 minutes total to make including prep, browning the beef and 50 minute cook time.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again